Imperial College London


Faculty of EngineeringDepartment of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Winston Wong Chair, Biomedical Circuits



+44 (0)20 7594 6255c.toumazou




Mrs Gifty Osei-Ansah +44 (0)20 7594 6168




405Bessemer BuildingSouth Kensington Campus





  • Winner of 2014 European Inventor Award, European Patent Office, 2014
  • 2013 Gabor Medal: "for success in applying semiconductor technology to biomedical and life-science applications, most recently to DNA analysis, Royal Society, 2013
  • Regius Professorship, The Crown, 2013
  • e-Legacy Award for Medical Advances - DNA Electronics Ltd., voted by Electronic Product Design Readers and Electronic Design Industry Peers, 2010
  • IET Innovation Awards in Electronics, Emerging Technologies and Healthcare - DNA Electronics Ltd., 2010
  • Best British Inventions, BBC Focus Magazine, 2009
  • Emerging Technology of the Year Award, National Microelectronics Institute, 2009
  • European Electronics Industry Award for R&D - DNA Electronics Ltd., Elektra09, 2009
  • Innovation Award, Times Higher (THES), 2009
  • Winner of the World Technology Award for Health and Medicine, Sponsored by Time Magazine, World Technology Network, 2009
  • Innovation in Engineering Award, The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), 2008
  • Silver Medal for Pioneering Contributiosn to British Industry, Royal Academy of Engineering, 2007
  • Start-Up of the Year Award, National Microelectronics Institute, 2007
  • Outstanding Innovation Award, Oracle, 2006
  • IEEE Circuits and Systems Education Award for pioneering contributions to telecommunications and biomedical circuits and system, IEEE, 2005
  • The Clifford Patterson Lecture Prize Bronze Medal, The Royal Society, 2003
  • Recipient of the IEE Electronics Letters Premium Award, IEE, 1993
  • Recipient of the Outstanding Young Author Award, IEEE CAS, 1992
  • Recipient of the IEE Rayleigh Best Book Award, Imperial College is recognition of research in the Department of Electrical Engineering, 1991

External Positions

  • Chairman, Biomedical Technical Committee, IEEE CAS Society, 2000
  • Chairman, Healthcare Panel, UK EPSRC, 2000
  • Member, Board of Governors, IEEE CAS Society, 1999 - 2001
  • Member, President's Advisory Committee, IEEE CAS, 1997 - 1998
  • Vice President, Technical Activites, IEEE CAS Society, 1996 - 1997
  • Member, Board of Governors, IEEE CAS Society, 1993
  • Chairman, Circuits and Technical Committee on Analog Signal Processing, International IEEE, 1993 - 1995
  • Member, International Circuits and System Chapter of the UK and Republic of Ireland Section, IEEE, 1992
  • Member, Professional Group E10 Technical Committee, UK IEE, 1992
  • European Liaison Officer (1st UK representative), IEEE Circuits and Systems Technical Analog Signal Processing, International IEEE, 1989
  • Senior Advisor, Board of Grace Semiconductor, Taiwan
  • Member, Critical Technologies - Power Scavenging, Joint DSB/DSAC Task Force
  • Member, Foresight Committee on the Detection & Identification of Infectious Diseases (DIID), DTI
  • Internatiional Advisor, Medical Devices, Singapore Government
  • Member, Sub-Committee for Engineering Research Grants, The Royal Society
  • Member, Technology Transfer Committee, The Wellcome

Membership of Professional Bodies

  • Elected Fellow (FREng), The Royal Academy of Engineering (RAEng), 2008
  • Elected Fellow (FRS), The Royal Society, 2008
  • Elected Fellow, Academia Europaea (European Academy), 2007
  • Fellow (FIET), The Institution of Engineering Technology (IET), UK, 2004
  • Fellow (FIEEE), The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), USA, 2000

Commercial Spinoffs

Editorial Boards

  • IET Electronics Letters, Editor-In-Chief
  • IET Electronics Letters, Editor-in-Chief