Imperial College London


Faculty of EngineeringDepartment of Bioengineering

Chair in Neurorehabilitation Engineering



+44 (0)20 7594 1387d.farina Website




RSM 4.15Royal School of MinesSouth Kensington Campus






Professor Farina has been Full Professor at Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark, (until 2010) and at the University Medical Center Göttingen, Georg-August University, Germany, where he founded and directed the Institute of Neurorehabilitation Systems (2010-2016) until he moved to Imperial College London as Chair in Neurorehabilitation Engineering. His research focuses on biomedical signal processing, neurorehabilitation technology, and neural control of movement. Within these areas, he has (co)-authored approximately 400 papers in peer-reviewed Journals and >500 conference abstract and papers. He has been the President of the International Society of Electrophysiology and Kinesiology (ISEK) (2012-2014) and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the official Journal of this Society, the Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology. He is also currently an Editor for IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering and the Journal of Physiology, and previously covered editorial roles in several other Journals.

Honours and Memberships


Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award, London, UK (2016)

2010 IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society Early Career Achievement Award (2010)

The Nightingale Prize for best paper published in Medical and Biological Engineering and Computing (MBEC) (2007)

External Positions

2016-Present:  Guest Professor, University Medical Center Göttingen, Georg-August University, Göttingen, Germany

2006: Guest Professor (Signal Processing), Polytech'Orléans, Orléans, France

2006: Guest Professor (Signal Processing), Department of Electronics, Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy

Since 2016: Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology

2014-2015: Distinguished Lecturer IEEE Engineering in Medical and Biology Society

Membership of Professional Bodies

2012-2013: President of the International Society of Electrophysiology and Kinesiology (ISEK)

Since 2008: Senior Member IEEE

2004-2016: Member of the Council of the International Society of Electrophysiology and Kinesiology (ISEK)


2016: Elected Fellow of the European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering and Science (EAMBES)

2012: Elected Fellow of the American Institute for Medical & Biological Engineering (AIMBE)



Muceli S, Poppendieck W, Holobar A, et al., 2022, Blind identification of the spinal cord output in humans with high-density electrode arrays implanted in muscles., Sci Adv, Vol:8

Hug F, Avrillon S, Ibáñez J, et al., 2022, Common synaptic input, synergies and size principle: Control of spinal motor neurons for movement generation., J Physiol

Koutsoftidis S, Barsakcioglu DY, Petkos K, et al., 2022, Myolink: A 128-Channel, 18 nV/root Hz, Embedded Recording System, Optimized for High-Density Surface Electromyogram Acquisition, Ieee Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, Vol:69, ISSN:0018-9294, Pages:3389-3396

Lin C, Chen X, Guo W, et al., 2022, A BERT based Method for Continuous Estimation of Cross-subject Hand Kinematics from Surface Electromyographic Signals., Ieee Trans Neural Syst Rehabil Eng, Vol:PP

Zicher B, Ibáñez J, Farina D, 2022, Beta inputs to motor neurons do not directly contribute to volitional force modulation, The Journal of Physiology, ISSN:0022-3751

More Publications