Imperial College London


Faculty of Natural SciencesDepartment of Physics

Professor of Ultrafast Physics and Technology



+44 (0)20 7594 7786jr.taylor Website CV




636ABlackett LaboratorySouth Kensington Campus





  • Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Royal Academy of Engineering, 2022
  • Michael Faraday Award and Medal, Institute of Physics, 2019
  • IEEE Photonics Society Quantum Electronics Medal and Award, IEEE, 2018
  • Oxburgh Medal, Institute of Measurement and Control, 2017
  • Fellow of the Royal Society, The Royal Society, 2017
  • Rumford Medal, The Royal Society, 2012
  • Imperial College Research Excellence Award, Imperial College London, 2007
  • Thomas Young Medal and Award, Institute of Physics, 2007
  • Wolfson Research Merit Award, The Royal Society, 2006
  • Ernst Abbe Award, Carl Zeiss Foundation, 1990

External Positions

  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, 2017
  • Member, Frederick Ives Award Committee (OSA)

Membership of Professional Bodies

  • Fellow, Institute of Physics, 2019
  • Member, SPIE, 2005
  • Member, IEEE, 1995
  • Fellow, Optical Society of America

Editorial Boards

  • Journal of the European Optical Society, Member of editorial board
  • Optics Letters, Member of editorial board
  • Nonlinear Optics, Member of editorial board