Imperial College London

Professor Marc-Emmanuel Dumas

Faculty of MedicineDepartment of Metabolism, Digestion and Reproduction

Chair in Systems Medicine



+44 (0)20 7594 1820m.dumas Website




Mrs Patricia Murphy +44 (0)20 7594 1603




E315BBurlington DanesHammersmith Campus




Welcome to the Dumas group

The Dumas group focusses on integrative metabolism, using metabolomics to identify novel markers and dissect their mechanisms in metabolic and cardiorespiratory conditions, and chronic inflammation, including neuroinflammation.  

Current group members

  • Dr. Petros Andrikopoulos (ISSF Springboard Fellow)
  • Dr. Gibril Ndow (AREF-EDCTP & Wellcome International Training Fellow)
  • Dr. Kanta Chechi (MRC Research Fellow and ISSF Springboard Fellow)
  • Dr. Elliot Murphy (Leverhulme postdoc on the Holometabolome)
  • Ms Nadeen Habboub (PhD in NAFLD metabolomics and metagenomics)
  • Mr Angelos Manolias (PhD in proteomics and metabolomics)
  • Ms Manyi Jia (PhD in multi-omics of cardiometabolic diseases) 
  • Mr Desai Chen (PhD COVID-19 metabolomics)

Positions (currently 4 vacancies)

Excellent postdoctoral and PhD candidates with the following profiles are encouraged to get in touch:

  • Analytical chemistry for development of untargeted and targeted metabolomic strategies by UPLC-HRMS in biomedical and environmental samples, ie holometabolome
  • Computational metabolomics of the holobiont-derived metabolome (ie holometabolome) by UPLC-HRMS, ie metabolite annotation, dereplication, molecular networking and development of novel metrics reporting chemical information
  • Analytical chemistry for the development of untargeted and targeted UPLC-MS methods for tracking endogenous and drug metabolism
  • Computational metagenomics with a strong focus on metagenome and metabolome integration or mining
  • Toxicologist/pharmacologist to characterise novel bioactivities for microbiome-derived compounds

Past group members

  • Ms Tamara Vujic (MRes student in Biomedical Research, 2023)
  • Ms Huilin Zhan (MRes student in Biomedical Research, 2022)
  • Mr Desai Chen (MSc in Applied Genomics)
  • Ms Tongxin Zhang (MSc in Applied Genomics)
  • Dr Hwei Ee Tan (LKCMedicine-Imperial Fellow, NTU, Singapore)
  • Dr. Flavia Valeo (PhD in traumatic brain injury metabolomics) 
  • Dr. Michael Olanipekun (PhD and RA in lung cancer metabolomics)
  • Mr Haoran Peng (MRes in Biomedical Research)
  • Ms Wendy Peng (MRes in Biomedical Research)
  • Ms Anthonia Osagie (Research Associate, 2021)
  • Mr Xianyu (Adam) Zhu) (MRes in Biomedical Research, 2021) 
  • Ms Zoe Hoare (MRes in Biomedical Research, 2021)
  • Dr. Alexandre Nuzzo (Clinical Research Fellow, PhD in acute mesenteric ischaemia metabolomics, 2018-2021)
  • Mr. Ricardo Minaya Sainz (MRes in Cancer Biology 2019-2020)
  • Mr. Linghen He (Mres in Biomedical Research 2019-2020)
  • Dr. Francesco Pallotti (Clinical Research Fellow, PhD in Endocrinology, 2018-2019)
  • Ms Tatiana Mattio (Mres in Biomedical Research 2018-2019)
  • Dr. Antonis Myridakis (Postdoc in Translational Metabolomics, 2015-2018)
  • Dr. Laura Martinez-Gili (Postdoc in Microbial Metabolome and Neuroinflammation, 2015-2018)
  • Dr Julien Chilloux (Postdoc in Microbial Metabolome in CardioMetabolic Diseases, Imperial 2012-2017)
  • Dr Ana Luisa Neves, MD (PhD student in Clinical Sciences, Imperial 2014-2017)
  • Dr Andrea Rodriguez Martinez (PhD in Genetical Metabolomics, Imperial 2013-2017)
  • Ms Ruby Kozlowski (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2017-2018)
  • Ms Elina Alambriti (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2017-2018)
  • Dr Magali Sarafian (PhD in Nutrimetabonomics, Imperial 2011-2015)
  • Ms Leonie Kohlhammer (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2015-2016)
  • Mr Erik Marzaganov (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2015-2016)
  • Ms Valeria Nikolaenko (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2015-2016)
  • Ms Hajrah Sarkar (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2015-2016)
  • Ms Sophie Thayanithy (MRes in Cancer Biology, Imperial 2015-2016)
  • Ms Islay Campbell (MSc in Human Molecular Genetics, Imperial 2015-2016)
  • Mr Mohd Badrin Hanizam Abdul-Rahim (PhD in Cell Metabolomics, Imperial 2012-2015)
  • Ms Abellona (Mei) U (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2014-2015)
  • Dr. Jessica Le Ven (Postdoc in Biomedical Mass Spectrometry, Imperial 2012-2015)
  • Mr Aamer Mughal (Year 4 Medic / BSc Pharmacology, Imperial 2014-2015)
  • Ms Sharim Ponticelli-Turner (BSc Pharmacology, Imperial 2014-2015)
  • Mr Michele Calabrese (Mres in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2014-2015)
  • Ms Emily (Zhanxuan) Wu (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2014-2015)
  • Dr. Lesley Hoyles (Postdoc in Translational Sytems Biology, Imperial 2012-2014)
  • Ms Clare O'Malley (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2013-2014)
  • Mr Richard Perryman (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2013-2014)
  • Dr. Claire L. Boulangé. (PhD student in Nutrimtabonomics, Imperial 2010-2014)
  • Dr Quan Gu (Postdoc in Bioinformatics, Imperial 2011-2013)
  • Ms Katarzyna Roguska (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2012-2013)
  • Dr Chi (Janice) Kwok (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial 2012-2013)
  • Ms Elisa Noll (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial, 2011-2012)
  • Ms Jaya Venkitachalam (MRes in Biomedical Sciences, Imperial, 2011-2012)
  • Ms Chloé Deshayes (BSc in Food science, 07/2011-12/2011)
  • Ms Océane Carle (BSc in Food science, 07/2011-12/2011)
  • Mr Kyrillos Georgiadis Adesina (MSc in Human Genetics, Imperial 03/2010-08/2011) 
  • Dr Clément Pontoizeau (PhD student, ENS-Lyon)
  • Dr Mohamed Triba (postdoc, ENS-Lyon)
  • Dr Vincent Navratil (postdoc ENS-Lyon)
  • Dr Céline Domange (postdoc ENS-Lyon)
  • Dr Benjamin Blaise (PhD student, ENS-Lyon)
  • Dr Laetitia Shintu (postdoc ENS-Lyon)