Imperial College London


Faculty of MedicineDepartment of Brain Sciences

Professor of Neurology - Neuroimmunology and Immunotherapy



p.muraro Website




E415Burlington DanesHammersmith Campus





  • Van Bekkum Award, European Group for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT), 2013
  • Local Clinical Excellence Award, National Health Service, 2009
  • Fellows Award for Research Excellence, National Institutes of Health, United States, 2004
  • Fellows Award for Research Excellence, National Institutes of Health, United States, 2003
  • Special Act or Service Award, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Institutes of Health, United states, 2002
  • Merit award, Italian Foundation for the Study of Cerebrovascular Diseases, 1994

External Positions

  • Chair, Autoimmune Diseases Working Committee, Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplant Research, 2009 - 2014
  • Scientific Reviewer, UK Multiple Sclerosis Society, 2009
  • Member, Scientific Committee, Italian Multiple Sclerosis Society (FISM), 2008 - 2009
  • Member, Autoimmune Diseases Working Party, European group for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT), 2007
  • Member, Non-malignant Diseases Committee, Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trials Network, 2006
  • Scientific reviewer, Multiple Sclerosis
  • Scientific reviewer, Clinical and Experimental Immunology
  • Scientific reviewer, Expert Opinion on Biological Therapy
  • Scientific advisor, German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research & Development
  • Scientific Assessor, Catalan Agency for Health Technology Assessment and Research
  • Scientific Reviewer, PLoS Medicine
  • Scientific referee, Italian Multiple Sclerosis Society
  • Scientific reviewer, The Wellcome Trust
  • Scientific reviewer, Journal of Neuroimmunology
  • Reviewer, Journal of Immunology
  • Scientific reviewer, French Multiple Sclerosis Society


  • Fogarty Fellow, National Institutes of Health, USA, 1997 - 1998
  • Fellow, Italian Multiple Sclerosis Society, 1995 - 1996

Editorial Boards

  • Faculty of 1000 Medicine, Associate Member, Neurological Disorders Section, 2008