Imperial College London

Professor Sir Roy Anderson FRS, FMedSci

Faculty of MedicineSchool of Public Health

Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology



roy.anderson Website




Mrs Clare Mylchreest +44 (0)7766 331 301




LG35Norfolk PlaceSt Mary's Campus





  • Hon. DSc University of Aberdeen, University of Aberdeen, 2008
  • Gold Medal for Distinguished Service to the United States of America National Nuclear Security Administration, 2007
  • Knight Bachelor, Queens Birthday Honours List, 2006, 2006
  • Ernst Chain Prize, Imperial College London, 2005
  • Hon. Fellow Royal Agricultural Society, 2002
  • The Nuffield Medal Lecture, The Royal Society of Medicine, 2002
  • Hon. Fellow Institute of Actuaries, Institute and Faculty of Actuaries, 2000
  • Distinguished Parasitologist Award, American Society for Parasitology, 1999
  • Hon. Fellow Royal College of Pathologists, Royal College of Pathologists, 1999
  • James McLaughlin Lecture Medal, University of Texas, 1999
  • Distinguished Statistical Ecologist Award, American Society of Ecology, 1998
  • Hon. DSc University of Stirling, University of Stirling, 1998
  • Hon. DSc University of East Anglia, University of East Anglia, 1997
  • Leiden Lecture Medal, Institute for Tropical Medicine, Rotterdam, 1995
  • Thomas Francis Memorial Lecture Medal, University of Michigan, 1995
  • Croonian Prize, Royal Society, 1994
  • Joseph Smadel Medal, Infectious Disease Society of America, 1994
  • Storer Lecture Medal, University of California, Davis, 1994
  • Frink Medal for British Zoologists, The Zoological Society of London, 1993
  • Hon. Fellow Linacre College, Linacre College, Oxford, 1993
  • Hon. Member British Society for Parasitology, British Society for Parasitology, 1993
  • Hon. Member Royal College of Physicians, Royal College of Physicians, 1991
  • John Hull Grundy Lecture Medal, 1990
  • Weldon Memorial Prize for Biomathematics, University of Oxford, 1989
  • Chalmers Memorial Medal, Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 1988
  • David Starr Jordan Prize and Medal, Universities of Stanford, Cornell and Indiana, 1987
  • C.A. Wright Memorial Medal, British Society for Parasitology, 1986
  • Scientific Medal, Zoological Society of London, 1982
  • Huxley Memorial Medal, Imperial College London, 1981

External Positions

  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Global Health Initiative, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, 2002
  • Chairman, UNAIDS reference group on the epidemiology of HIV/AIDS, 1999
  • Member, Spongiform Encephalopathy Advisory Committee (SEAC), 1997
  • Member, Joint DH/MRC TSE Research Advisory Group, 1996
  • Member, Council, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, 1993
  • Trustee, The Tropical Health and Education Trust, 1991

Industrial Connections

  • Abbott Laboratories, Consultant, One year renewable
  • GSK, Consultant, One year renewable
  • Glaxo Smith Kline (GSK), Non-Executive Director
  • Merck, Consultant
  • Oriole Global Health Limited, Chairman
  • Swiss Re, Consultant, One year renewable


Editorial Boards

  • Bulletin of World Health Organization, Member of Editorial Board
  • Epidemiology and Infection, Member of Editorial Board
  • Journal of AIDS, Member of Editorial Board
  • Journal of Mathematical Biology, Member of Editorial Board
  • AIDS
  • Journal of Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Parasitology, Member of Editorial Board
  • Theoretical Population Biology, Member of Editorial Board
  • Journal of Mathematics Applied in Biology and Medicine (IMA), Member of Editorial Board