Sports Awards 2022

An evening to celebrate the achievements and successes of our Imperial Athletes

Imperial Athletes Sports Awards are back on Thursday 16 June 2022! The awards ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate athletes from across our clubs for their outstanding dedication, sporting excellence, and commitment.

You can now view the Sports Awards Programme - including all of our nominees and information on our special guests.


The nominations are in! Shortlisted nominees are listed below. 

Outstanding Achievement

The Outstanding Achievement award is decided by student vote (voting now closed). The nominees are:

Outstanding Achievement Nominees

Daisy Bali

Club: Womens Football

Nomination text: 
Daisy has been a key member of ICWF for four years, with her sporting contributions have resulted in great success for the first team. Daisy also contributes 100% in every match and training session; because of her dedication and commitment she is a player that everyone looks up to. There is no doubt that her commitment and mentality in the way she plays has left a legacy for the team and provided the opportunity for imperial to play football at a high standard in tier 1.  Daisy has been an integral part in the maintenance of the club’s togetherness and has consistently kept team spirit high. She has been a constant support system for all the club’s members, particularly freshers, helping them with the adaption to university and being a figure to look up to. Daisy has been a real team role model, installing a committed and determined ethos in the team but must importantly has always been a supportive friend to all.

Ella Beattie-Edwards

Club: Parkour, Free Running and Gymnastics

Nomination text:
Ella has been an integral part of the society this year and has volunteered for the gymnastics club since the fresher's fair. Her contribution has been vital to the club growing as much as it has in such a short space of time. She has helped with administrative issues throughout the year and was always present in meetings. She has personally organized BUCS for the very first time for the gymnastics club and dealt with the kits, transportation, and accommodation for the whole club. She has also used her experience and qualifications to help as a volunteer coach for the club. Her hard work in training also paid off, bringing a gold medal back from BUCS in February.

Thomas Cowperthwaite

Club: Badminton

Nomination text:
Tom has truly gone above and beyond for the Badminton Club. He organised and led the coaching sessions for social players looking to improve their game, consistently showing up on cold Sunday mornings without fail. This proves the dedication he has to the club. He’s also a member of the Men's 1st competitive team and has played every match while also acting as Club Treasurer behind the scenes. Tom is a great candidate to receive the outstanding contribution award and look forward to seeing how he takes the club to higher levels as President next year.

Sherry Yuqing Xu

Club: Fencing

Nomination text:
Sherry has been the President of Imperial Fencing for the past two years and has been working tirelessly to improve the club’s sense of spirit and ensure its ability to thrive in the future. It would certainly be a reasonable statement to say that she has carried the club on her shoulders far more and far further than could be expected of anyone. Sherry has been omnipresent in supporting our teams, both home and especially away matches. Her experience and knowledge of BUCS and Fencing rules has been especially appreciated this year, due to the covid disruptions to all sport. She’s also been instrumental in the smooth running of activities and tournaments. But perhaps Sherry’s greatest contribution to the club is her tireless devotion to improve the club and individual members’ engagement with the wider fencing world.

 Shortlisted nominees


Coach of the Year

  • Luke Johnstone – Football - Womens
  • Elliot Queisser De Stockalper – Handball
  • Juan Campos - Volleyball

Participation Award

  • Rocío Galí – Fencing
  • IC Cricket
  • Parkour, Free Running and Gymnastics 

Sportsman of Year

  • Lachlan Jarvis – Fencing
  • Elliot Queisser De Stockalper - Handball
  • Marcus Chung  - Rugby
  • Chun Wai Fung – Table Tennis 

Sportswoman of the Year

  • Melissa Hexter – Barbell
  • Elizabeth Witt – Boat
  • Kate Gardiner – Lawn Tennis

Sports Club Member of the Year

  • Sherry Yuqing Xu – Fencing
  • Adam Moorcroft – Football (Medics)
  • Martina Becchio – Tennis

Rising Star

  • Chun Wai Fung – Table Tennis
  • Lachlan Jarvie – Fencing
  • Tristan Uvovo – TKD
  • Ella Silvester – Football - Womens

Student Club of the Year

  • Cheerleading
  • Rugby
  • Futsal (under Football)
  • Football (Medics)
  • Volleyball

Team of the Year

  • Dodgeball  - Women’s 1s
  • IC Badminton - Women’s 1s
  • Table Tennis - Men’s 1s
  • Handball Eagles Men’s 1s  
  • Cheerleading Titans Level 2