Prior to applying candidates must have made contact with a supervisor in an academic department at Imperial College London who has agreed to supervise their research project. President's PhD Scholarships primary supervisors are only permitted to supervise one student at any time. The lists below indicate supervisors who are currently unavailable to new students. 

Departments should notify Student Financial Support of any changes to supervision or if a supervisor needs to be added/removed from this list.

List of unavailable supervisors in the Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Engineering


Dr Yongyun Hwang
Dr Zahra Sharif Khodae
Dr Sylvain Laizet
Dr George Papadakis
Dr Peter Vincent


Professor Anthony Bull
Dr Sam Au
Dr Claudia Clopath

Dr Claire Higgins
Dr David Labonte

Dr Reiko Tanaka

Chemical Engineering

Professor Serafim Kalliadasis
Dr J Krishnan
Dr Camille Petit

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr Panagiotis Angeloudis
Professor Nigel Graham
Professor Bassam Izzuddin
Dr Ana Mijic
Dr Marc Stettler
Dr David Taborda
Professor Ahmer Wadee


Dr Mario Berta
Professor Andrew Davison
Dr Arthur Gervais 

Dr Edward Johns
Dr Bernhard Kainz
Dr Stefan Leutenegger
Professor Daniel Rueckert
Dr Bjorn Schuller

Design Engineering

Dr Mazdak Ghajari
Dr Stephen Green
Dr Petar Kormushev
Dr Connor Myant
Dr Lorenzo Picinali
Dr Talya Porat

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Professor Peter Cheung
Dr Tim Constandinou
Professor Pier Dragotti
Dr Pantelis Georgiou
Dr Krystian Mikolajczyk

Earth Science and Engineering

Dr Ian Bastow
Dr Jenny Collier
Professor Sanjeev Gupta
Professor Chris Jackson
Dr Samuel Krevor
Dr Lidia Lonergan
Professor Mark Rehkamper
Professor Tina van de Flierdt

Mechanical Engineering

Professor Pavlos Aleiferis
Dr Maria Charalambides
Dr Jun Jiang
Professor Jianguo Lin
Aimee Morgans
Dr Christoph Schwingshackl
Dr Mehdi Vahdati


Professor Fionn Dunne
Professor Eduardo Saiz
Professor Molly Stevens

Summary of the table's contents

List of unavailable supervisors in the Faculty of Medicine

Faculty of Medicine

Brain Sciences Professor Simone Di Giovanni
Professor Paul Ramchandani
Dr Magdalena Sastre
Professor Simon Schultz
Clinical Sciences Professor David Carling
Professor Jesus Gil

Dr Enrique Martinez-Perez
Professor Saravana Ramasamy
Professor Christian Speck

Immunology & Inflammation

Dr Jim Cawley
Professor Victor Tybulewicz

Infectious Disease

Professor David Rueda
Professor Xiaodong Zhang

Metabolism, Digestion & Reproduction Dr Veronique Azuara
Dr Ed Chambers 
Dr Wei Cui
Professor Gary Frost
Dr Aylin Hanyaloglu
Professor Guy Rutter
National Heart & Lung Institute Professor Louise Donnelly
Professor Julia Gorelik

Public Health Professor James Bennett
Dr Marta Blangiardo
Dr Abbas Dehghan

Professor Christl Donnelly
Professor Majid Ezzati
Dr David Muller
Professor Bruce Neal
Dr Robert Perneczky
Dr Mireille Toledano
Dr Paolo Vineis
Professor Helen Ward
Dr Rosie Woodroffe

Surgery and Cancer

Dr Robert Dickinson
Professor Charlotte Bevan
Professor Justin Cobb
Dr Luca Magnani

Summof the table's contents

List of unavailable supervisors in the Faculty of Natural Sciences

Faculty of Natural Sciences

Department Supervisor

Centre for Environmental Policy

Dr Mike Tennant
Dr Nick Voulvoulis


Dr Artem Bakulin
Dr Mark Crimmin
Dr Marco Di Antonio
Professor Matt Fuchter
Professor Martin Heeney
Professor Nick Long
Professor Iain McCulloch

Professor Philip Parsons
Professor Alan Spivey
Professor Ed Tate
Professor Tom Welton
Dr James Wilton-Ely

Life Sciences

Dr Lauren Cator
Professor Maggie Dalman
Professor Gad Frankel
Professor Nick Franks
Dr Giorgio Gilestro

Dr Colin Turnbull
Professor Jasper van Thor


Dr Heather Battey
Professor Jose Carrillo
Dr Edward Cohen

Dr Seth Flaxman
Professor Martin Hairer
Dr David Ham
Professor Henrik Jensen

Dr Nick Jones
Professor Steve Kolthammer
Professor Ari Laptev

Dr Ory Schnitzer
Professor Richard Thomas


Dr Piers Barnes
Professor C Contaldi
Dr Michael Coppins
Dr Paul Dauncey
Professor Jerome Gauntlett
Professor Andrei Golutvin
Professor Alan Heavens
Professor Timothy Hornbury

Professor Ji-Seon Kim
Professor Myungshik Kim
Professor Sergey Lebedev
Dr Daniel Mortlock
Professor Jenny Nelson
Professor Sir John Pendry
Professor Claudia de Rham

Dr Nicholas Wardle

Summary of the table's contents

List of unavailable supervisors in the Imperial College Business School

Imperial College Business School

Business School

Professor Marcin Kacperczyk
Professor Alex Michaelides
Professor Tarun Ramadorai
Dr Anne ter Wal
Dr Wolfram Wiesemann
Professor Paolo Zaffaroni


Summary of the table's contents