Types of qualification

Students in the LibraryHonours courses at Imperial lead to the award of one of the following qualifications:

  • Bachelor of Science (BSc)
  • Master in Science (MSci)
  • Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)
  • Master of Engineering (MEng)
  • Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)

The MEng and MSci are known as integrated Master’s awards whereby study at the level of a Bachelor’s degree with Honours is combined with Master’s-level study during the latter stages of a single, continuous programme of study.  

Students on our six-year Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree undertake a one-year intercalated BSc degree between years three and four. This allows them to gain a further qualification in a subject related to medicine alongside their MBBS degree. The College also offers a Graduate Entry MBBS in Medicine, which extends over five years.

Joint Honours degrees, combining two disciplines, are available in certain subjects. See our A–Z list of courses for details.

Professional accreditation

Over 60 per cent of our degrees are professionally accredited, combining both academic and professional study. This demonstrates to employers that you have achieved a recognised standard of competency beyond your qualifications.

Graduating with a professionally accreditation qualification can offer a faster route to professional registration in your chosen field. For example, studying an MEng in engineering or an MSci in chemistry completely satisfies the educational requirement of professional registration as a Chartered Engineer or Chartered Chemist on graduation. This means you will not have to sit any further exams en route to gaining chartered status.

As well as higher earnings potential and better career prospects, professional registration brings international recognition of your qualification for those preparing for careers further afield.


As well as your main degree, you may receive an award of Associateship from one of Imperial’s historic constituent Colleges:

  • Associateship of the Royal College of Science (ARCS)
  • Associateship of the Royal School of Mines (ARSM)
  • Associateship of the City and Guilds of London Institute (ACGI)
  • Associateship of the Imperial College School of Medicine (AICSM)

These are awarded to students (normally undergraduate students) provided they have satisfied the College’s requirements for their course of study and the minimum period of study as required for the award of Associateship.