The staff of the TSM-CDT come from the nine departments of: Aeronautics, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Earth Science and Engineering, Materials, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, and Physics, with expertise spanning the length scales from first-principles quantum-mechanical electronic structure methods, to atomistic simulations based on interatomic potentials, to phase-field modelling of microstructural evolution, metamaterials, dynamics of defect processes, fracture mechanics, to macroscopic constitutive modelling of engineering components based on predicted microstructures.