Academic staff

Professor Nick Buenfeld Professor Nick Buenfeld

Tel: +44 (0)20 7594 5955

Nick Buenfeld is Professor of Concrete Structures and Head of the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at Imperial College. He founded and heads the Concrete Durability Group. His research has been directed at investigating deterioration mechanisms, developing and using test methods for assessing durability, monitoring deterioration, improving electrochemical repair methods and developing service life prediction models. Reinforcement corrosion and measuring and modelling transport have been common themes. He has authored/co-authored around 150 refereed publications and 4 patents. He has applied latest research findings as a consultant on major projects around the world.

Dr. Hong S. Wong

Dr. Hong S. Wong

Tel: +44 (0)20 7594 5956

Hong Wong is a Senior Lecturer in the Structures Section. His research concerns understanding how microstructure controls engineering properties, degradation and ageing of structures. He specialises in microstructural characterisation of cement-based materials, especially using optical microscopy and scanning electron microscopy, X-ray microanalysis and digital image analysis. He has expertise in mass transport characterisation, durability assessment and microstructure-based modelling. He has produced over 50 publications on various aspects of his research.



  • Ms. Monika Mac
  • Mr. Marcus Yio
  • Ms. Fatmawati Abdul Wahid
  • Ms. Sukina Alzyoud
  • Mr. Saeed Dehghanpoor
  • Mr. Young Han Shin
  • Mr. John Stewart
  • Mr. Zhigen Wu

Honorary Research Associate

Dr. Ali Karimi

Academic Visitors

  • Professor Tao Meng
  • Professor Yuxi Zhao

Laboratory Technician

Mr. Andrew Morris

Past researchers

  • Dr. Emeka Agbasi
  • Dr. Yousef Ahmed
  • Dr. Muthena Al Isa
  • Dr. Ki-Yong Ann
  • Dr. Chanakya Arya
  • Dr. Ron Davies
  • Dr. MG Denno
  • Dr. Said El Belbo
  • Dr. Gareth Glass
  • Dr. Alaa Hassanein
  • Dr. Nadir Hassanein
  • Dr. Martin Head
  • Dr. Waleed Khushefati
  • Dr. Dennis Hai-Xiang Lee
  • Dr. Ian McLoughlin
  • Dr. Bharti Reddy
  • Dr. Tarek Shurafa-Daoudi
  • Dr. Julia Stegemann
  • Dr. Rob Sweeney
  • Dr. Stella Syropoulou
  • Dr. Wayne Wang
  • Dr. Renhe Yang
  • Prof. JJ Zheng
  • Dr. J-Z Zhang