Tabs

Freemont lab

Dr Kirsten Jensen 

Dr Kirsten Jensen

Senior Research Officer | k.jensen@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 3058

Kirsten has been working in research for over 20 years. She began her career in Hamburg at the Heinrich Pette Institute - Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology, where she worked on the molecular basis of Acute Promyelocytic Leukaemia 
 Richard Kelwick

Dr Richard Kelwick

RSE Enterprise Fellow | r.kelwick@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 3058, @rkelwick

Richard is a Royal Society of Edinburgh Enterprise Fellow (2018-2019) and an entrepreneurially driven researcher, with expertise in both cancer biology and synthetic biology.
 Loren Cameron

Dr Loren Cameron
Research Associate | loren.cameron11@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07885 723 108

Loren is studying the cystic fibrosis lung pathogen Pseudomonas aeruginosa and developing cell-free biosensors for the detection of P. aeruginosa in clinical samples. 

Dr Matthew Haines

Dr Matthew Haines
Research Associate | matthew.haines10@imperial.ac.uk

Matthew is working on a joint research collaboration with Richard Murray's lab at Caltech and funded by the NSF and EPSRC, the project is focused on developing new metrology for synthetic biology cell free systems.

Alex Webb

Dr Alexander J. Webb
Research Associate | alexander.webb1@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 3058, @ajwebb1979

Alex is a Microbiologist with a research focus on engineering bioreporters for global health.

Dr Monisha Pathania

Dr Monisha Pathania
Research Associate | m.pathania@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07404 807 702

Monisha was a Marie Curie Sklodowska Fellow within the ITN Translocation project and was enrolled in a PhD program at the Institute for Cell and Molecular Biosciences (ICaMB), Newcastle University, UK. She completed her PhD in 2018.
Currently, Monisha is a postdoctoral fellow at MRC Centre for Molecular Bacteriology and Infection (CMBI) in Imperial College London, in the research programme led by Prof. Angelika Grundling and Prof. Paul Freemont. Her work here is focussed on providing structural and mechanistic insight into the activity of diadenylate cyclase DacA, an essential membrane protein responsible for the production of c-di-AMP in Staphylococcus aureus.

Michael Crone

Dr Michael Crone
Research Assistant | m.crone15@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07521 249 424

Michael is currently a Research Assistant in the Freemont group working on Low Cost Viral Diagnostics as a part of a GCRF project, together with collaborators at the University of Cambridge, CSIR and University of Pretoria (South Africa). He is also a part of the UK DRI Care Research and Technology Center focusing on developing point of care diagnostics.

Matas Deveikis

Matas Deveikis
PhD student | m.deveikis20@imperial.ac.uk

Matas is interested in automation and biotherapeutics. He is working on developing a workflow for prototyping proteins using cell-free systems and machine learning.

 Caoimhe Canavan

Caoimhe Canavan
PhD student | caoimhe.canavan13@imperial.ac.uk

Caoimhe’s project is focused on developing metrology standards for mammalian cell-free systems. 

Mr Ciaran McKeown

Mr Ciaran McKeown
Laboratory Manager | c.mckeown@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 8556

Ciaran is the Laboratory Manager for the Department of Infectious Disease.

Dr James MacDonald

Dr James MacDonald
Research Fellow | j.macdonald@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 3058

James is a Synthetic biologist working on cell-free protein expression systems and computational protein design. He develops computational methods as well as working in the wet-lab.

Freemont lab members

Zhang lab

Amy Danson 

Dr Amy Danson
Research Associate | a.danson@imperial.ac.uk

Amy completed her PhD in structural biology at the University of Reading/Diamond Light Source in 2018. Amy is now investigating the role of bacterial enhancer binding proteins in bacterial transcription regulation. 

 Rhys Williams

Dr Rhys Williams
Research Associate | rhys.williams@imperial.ac.uk

Rhys holds a PhD in structural biology from the University of Liverpool and is currently using CryoEM to investigate the structural basis for the function and activation of the master kinases Mec1ATR and Tel1ATM in the DNA damage response. 

 Dr Fuzhou Ye

Dr Fuzhou Ye
Research Associate | f.ye@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07436 623 018

Fuzhou is currently working on bacterial RNA polymerase and the transcription machinery, elucidating how the full transcription machinery assembly from structural and biochemical perspectives.

Luke Yates

Dr Luke A. Yates
Research Associate | luke.yates@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07795 570 338, @yates_luke

Luke is a post-doctoral research associate and faculty research fellow (July 2018). Luke completed his D.Phil in Clinical Medicine at Oxford University (Merton College), but his research career has predominantly focused on investigating protein function using structural biology as a means to provide a mechanistic understanding in life and in disease.

Dr Lucas Kuhlen

Dr Lucas Kuhlen
Research Associate | l.kuhlen@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07482 535 069

Lucas uses cryo-EM to study the structure of BRCA2.

Dr Rafael Ayala

Dr Rafael Ayala
Research Associate | r.ayala14@imperial.ac.uk

Rafael is working on the INO80 chromatin remodeler.

Alex Carver

Alex Carver
PhD student | a.carver19@imperial.ac.uk

Alex completed his MSci at University College London, examining the effect of changes to the cytoskeleton in cancer migration and metastasis. He is currently working on proteins involved in DNA damage repair, specifically those involved in homologous recombination, and how mutations in these key proteins can cause cancer development.

Forson Gao

Forson Gao
PhD student | forson.gao15@imperial.ac.uk

Forson is investigating the mechanisms of transcription activation by bacterial enhancer binding proteins in RNA polymerase-σ54 transcription initiation complexes.
The goal of Forson’s project is to understand how interactions between bEBPs, σ54, RNAP and DNA during the ATP hydrolysis cycle facilitates transcription initiation. To do this, we use time-resolved cryo-electron microscopy and a range of biochemical approaches. This work could be used in the future to inform the design of novel antibiotics.

Qiao Gao

Qiao Gao
PhD Student | q.gao16@imperial.ac.uk

Qiao is working on a project on Structural vaccinology for Chikungunya vaccine design.

 Stephanie Tye

Stephanie Tye
PhD student | s.tye18@imperial.ac.uk

Stephanie is using biochemical and structural approaches to gain mechanistic insights into the tumour suppressor protein BRCA1.  

Bowen Zhang

Bowen Zhang
PhD student | bowen.zhang16@imperial.ac.uk

Bowen’s project is focusing on using X-ray crystallography and cryo-EM to elucidate the role of different enhancer binding proteins in bacterial transcription regulation, which could potentially resolve novel drug target against various pathogens.

Xiaojiao Liu 

Xiaojiao Liu 

Research Technician | x.liu18@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07565 811 189

Zhang lab

Wigley lab

 Dr Nicholas Vance

Dr Nicholas Vance
Research Associate | n.vance@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07434 768 409

Nick earned his PhD from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in the Division of Medicinal and Natural Products Chemistry in 2019. His doctoral work focused on the development of allosteric caspase inhibitors using fragment-based drug discovery, and the elucidation of the mechanism of a series of computationally derived glutamate racemase inhibitors with antimicrobial activity. As a post-doc in the Wigley Lab at Imperial College London, Nick has been studying the higher order regulation of the INO80 family of chromatin remodelers using a combination of biochemical, biophysical, structural biology methods, including cryo-EM and X-ray crystallography.  

 Dr Laura Griffin

Dr Laura Griffin
Research Associate | l.griffin@imperial.ac.uk

Laura is a postdoctoral researcher using structural biology techniques to investigate human DNA repair complexes 

 Dr Paul Girvan

Dr Paul Girvan
Research Associate | p.girvan@imperial.ac.uk

Paul has got experience in single molecule imaging and an interest in unpicking the molecular mechanisms of the cell. Currently, Paul is working on chromatin remodelling complexes.

Dr Dennis Mwangangi 

Dr Dennis Mwangangi
Research Associate | d.mwangangi@imperial.ac.uk

Dennis earned his PhD from the National University of Singapore using structural biology to study actin cytoskeleton. He joined the Wigley lab as a post-doc in 2020, and currently uses electron microscopy to study chromatin remodelling complexes of the INO80 family.

Liz McCormack 

Liz McCormack
Senior Scientific Officer | e.mccormack@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 8437

Liz completed a BAppSci in Australia and a number of years later a part-time MSc in Biomolecular Organization at Birkbeck College. Liz worked at the Institute of Cancer Research for 14 years in Professor Keith Willison’s Lab before joining the Wigley Lab in 2011.

Valerie Good 

Valerie Good
Laboratory Manager | v.good@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07843 007 638

Valerie is the manager of the Structural Biology Baculovirus expression facility at Imperial College.

Michael Skehan 

Michael Skehan 
Laboratory Technician | m.skehan@imperial.ac.uk

Michael completed a BSc in Structural Molecular Biology at Birkbeck College (2018) before joining the Wigley Lab as a technician in 2020. Main work involves protein expression and purification relating to chromatin remodelling complexes of the INO80 family.

 Carol Knight

Carol Knight
Laboratory Technician | carol.knight@imperial.ac.uk

Carol holds a BSc in Veterinary Biosciences from the University of Surrey and an MRes from Southampton University. Carol worked at Texas A&M University for a year in the Veterinary Pathobiology Department.

Wigley lab members

Aylett lab

Natalia de Martin Garrido 

Natalia de Martin Garrido
PhD student | n.de-martin-garrido18@imperial.ac.uk

Natalia graduated in Biochemistry from the University of Barcelona, she is now a PhD student in Dr Aylett’s team who aims to obtain further insights on protein complexes involved in molecular pathways controlling cell growth using cutting-edge structural biology methods. 

Kailash Ramlaul 

Kailash Ramlaul
Research Assistant | k.ramlaul@imperial.ac.uk, +44 020 7594 9598, @thekailashkai

Kailash is an Oxford Biochemistry graduate, now a research assistant and part-time PhD student at Imperial. He is using cryo-electron microscopy to structurally characterise protein complexes at the nexus of cell growth signalling.

Aylett lab members

Low lab

 Dr Matteo Tassinari

Dr Matteo Tassinari
Research Associate | m.tassinari@imperial.ac.uk

Matteo is working on secretion of specific virulence factors allowing pathogenic bacteria to attack target cells and, in some cases, to survive within the host. The TAD pili transport system represents a subtype of the Type IV filament secretion systems. The TAD system has been found in many bacterial phyla, including Gram positive and Gram negative pathogens. It is mainly involved in the secretion of pilins subunits, which in turn compose the pili, an elongated extra-cellular structure anchored to the cell wall involved in substrate adhesion. The objective of this research project is to understand the molecular mechanism underlying TAD system function using structural biology techniques such as cryo-electron microscopy. 

Dr Michael Hohl 

Dr Michael Hohl
Research Associate | m.hohl@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07557 230 592

Michael is interested in structural and functional investigations of bacterial secretion systems to find out how these systems help the cell to interact with the environment. Several bacterial secretion systems give the bacteria an advantage allowing them to form for example biofilms. The biofilm formation is directly connected to antibiotic resistance a fast emerging problem nowadays.

 Silhouette

Dr Souvik Naskar
Research Associate | s.naskar@imperial.ac.uk

Andrew Morrison

Andrew Morrison
PhD student | a.morrison17@imperial.ac.uk, +44 07531 225 751

Andrew’s research concerns new methodologies to discover antibiotics from these uncultivable bacteria and from silent antibiotic biosynthetic gene clusters. He focuses on in situ cultivation, a technique involving growing bacteria in their native habitat, and adapting it into high-throughput screening strategies. Andrew also focuses on increasing the efficiency of antibiotic detection utilising fluorescent/bioluminescent model pathogens as reporter systems.

Max Manley 

Max Manley
PhD student | max.manley16@imperial.ac.uk

Cell membranes separate the complex inner workings of the cell from its environment and are vital to life itself. Max aims to understand how bacteria remodel their cell membranes. His work focuses on bacterial dynamin-like protein and PspA, both of which have eukaryotic homologues. Thus, these proteins could reveal ancient conserved principles of membrane remodelling across all three kingdoms of life. Max studies these proteins using a combination of cryo-electron microscopy, biophysical and biochemical techniques.  

Low lab members
Low lab members

Riglar lab

Dr David Carreno Yugueros 

Dr David Carreno Yugueros
Research Associate | d.carreno-yugueros@imperial.ac.uk

David holds a PhD in Veterinary Medicine from the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC). Currently he is investigating spatial variability within the mammalian gut microbiome during health and inflammatory disease at Riglar’s lab.

Nina Short 

Nina Short
PhD student | nina.short15@imperial.ac.uk

Nina joined the Riglar Lab in November 2020 as a PhD student and works on engineering synthetic circuits within bacteria to sense and control the gut microbiome. She has an undergraduate degree in Biological Sciences and a Master's degree in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences from Imperial College London. She has also worked at the UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health, where she undertook an 8-week studentship investigating the process of mammalian neurulation.

Clare Robinson 

Clare Robinson
PhD student | c.robinson20@imperial.ac.uk

Clare is studying how to engineer bacteria to detect inflammation and spy on the other microbes in the mammalian gut.

Riglar lab