Senior Tutors

Your department’s Senior Tutor (UG) has overall responsibility for the academic and pastoral care of undergraduate students in the department.   For postgraduate students this role is fulfilled by your Senior Tutor (PG).  These experienced colleagues will be able to guide and support you in handling individual student problems or queries, and you should consult them if you are uncertain of how to proceed or would value a second opinion.  Except in the case of familiar or straightforward interactions, Personal Tutors are advised to keep the Senior Tutor informed of their actions or to discuss an individual case before taking action with a student.

Faculty Senior Tutors

The Senior Tutor team are supported by a Faculty Senior Tutor. The Faculty Senior Tutors have responsibility for ensuring the delivery of consistent, high quality support for students in their personal, general academic and professional development.  Working with and supporting Personal Tutors and Senior Tutors, they ensure that support systems are effective, that training is appropriate and that College policies in student support are implemented.  In addition, each Faculty Senior Tutor provides support to their senior tutors and directly to students who have more complex concerns or situations.

The Faculty Senior Tutors are available for additional support and guidance, augmenting the support that your department can provide for academic and personal matters. You may find a Faculty Senior Tutor particularly useful if you have a matter which you feel is highly sensitive or complicated and wish to ensure that you will be talking to the right person or team to help you. The details of the Faculty Senior Tutors are in the table below.

FacultyFaculty Senior TutorEmail address
Business School Dr Benita (Baggy) Cox  b.cox@imperial.ac.uk
Faculty of Engineering Dr Lorraine Craig  l.craig@imperial.ac.uk
Faculty of Natural Sciences Professor John Seddon fons-seniortutor@imperial.ac.uk
Faculty of Medicine Dr Jeffrey Vernon j.vernon@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

Experience and involving

Their experience


Senior Tutors will normally have had a lot of experience as Personal Tutors themselves and are a good source of information on what to do in tricky or unusual situations. They will have detailed knowledge of the structure of the UG or PG programme and will have dealt with various academic and support services in the College (Registry, Health Centre, Disability Advisory Service etc). They normally attend monthly Senior Tutor Forums where current issues concerning students are discussed. There are regular training sessions for new Senior Tutors. In some departments the Senior Tutor is aided by a Student Liaison Officer (or similar), responsible for the pastoral care aspects of the role.

When to involve them


The Senior Tutor  is normally in charge of their department’s personal tutorial system.  It is important that Senior Tutors  are informed promptly of any major personal or academic problems with tutees, and in particular about repeated absences. Senior Tutors usually have undergraduate discipline in the department devolved to them by the Head of Department and will normally be involved with assessing alleged cases of plagiarism.

For the School of Medicine, Senior Tutors operate a supportive role only and are not involved in disciplinary action. They will offer support to students who are undergoing disciplinary action within the College and through external agencies. This is a requirement of the General Medical Council.

It is very important that Personal Tutors do not take certain matters into their own hands e.g. in cases where a student wishes to lodge a complaint against a member of staff, or reports financial issues or visa queries (also consult International Student Support).  In fact, anything which is potentially controversial should be directed to the Senior Tutor.

When involving your Senior Tutor there is guidance on how to manage confidentiality and disclosure of student information that you should be aware of.  Also, your tutee may wish to go directly to the Senior Tutor and should be made aware of this. 

Tutors

Senior Tutor (UG)

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING

 

Aeronautics

Dr Sylvain Laizet

x45045 aero.seniortutor@imperial.ac.uk

Bioengineering

Dr Emm Drakakis

x45182 e.drakakis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Claire Higgins (deputy)

x45826 c.higgins@imperial.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering

Dr Andreas Kogelbauer

x45572 a.kogelbauer@imperial.ac.uk

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr Andrew Phillips

x46801 andrew.phillips@imperial.ac.uk

Computing

Dr Maria Valera-Espina

x43089 m.valera-espina@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Lancaster

x48394 t.lancaster@imperial.ac.uk

Dyson School of Design Engineering

Dr Mazdak Ghajari 

x49236  m.ghajari@imperial.ac.uk

Earth Science and Engineering

Dr Emma Passmore

x46429 e.passmore@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth Day (deputy)

x46529 e.day@imperial.ac.uk

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Mrs Esther Perea

x46160 e.perea@imperial.ac.uk

Materials

Dr Paul J. Franklyn

x46725 p.franklyn@imperial.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Dr Andrew (Fred) Marquis

x47040 a.marquis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Julie Varley (deputy)

x47089 j.varley@imperial.ac.uk


 

 

FACULTY OF MEDICINE  

 

MBBS School of Medicine

Professor Mark Nelson (Year 1)

mark.nelson@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Louise Donnelly (Year 2)

l.donnelly@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Debbie Jarvis (Year 3)

d.jarvis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Roshni Patel (Year 4)

roshni.patel@imperial.ac.uk     

Dr Graeme Wilson (Year 5)

g.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Mike Schachter (Year 6)

m.schachter@imperial.ac.uk

BSc Medical Biosciences

Dr Rebecca Salter 

rebecca.salter@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES

 

Chemistry

Dr Rob Law

x45860 r.law@imperial.ac.uk

Mathematics

Dr Christopher Ford

x49165 c.ford@imperial.ac.uk

Physics

Dr Ingo Mueller-Wodarg

x47524 ph.stutor@imperial.ac.uk

Life Sciences

Dr Stuart Haslam (Biochemistry)

x45222 s.haslam@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Stephen Brickley (Biological Sciences)

x47699 s.brickley@imperial.ac.uk

BUSINESS  SCHOOL

Dr Edgar Meyer (UG Programmes, Summer School and MBA Suite)

x47160 e.meyer@imperial.ac.uk

Senior Tutors (PG)

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING

 

Aeronautics

Dr Francesco Montomoli (PG taught)

x45151 f.montomoli@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Paul Bruce (PG research)

x45048 p.bruce@imperial.ac.uk

Bioengineering

Dr Tom Ellis (PG taught and research) 

x47615 t.ellis@imperial.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering

Prof Paul Luckham (PG taught and research) 

x45583 p.luckham01@imperial.ac.uk

Civil and Environmental   Engineering

Dr Ana M Ruiz-Teran

x46005 a.ruiz-teran@imperial.ac.uk

Computing

Prof Sophia Drossopolou

x48368 s.drossopolou@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Fariba Sadri (PG taught)

x48224 f.sadri@imperial.ac.uk

Dyson School of Design   Engineering

Mr Andy Brand (PG taught)

andrew.brand@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Pelin Demirel (PG research)

p.demirel@imperial.ac.uk

Earth Science and Engineering

Prof Peter Allison (PG research)

x46479 p.allison@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Peter Fitch (PG taught)

x49521 p.fitch@imperial.ac.uk

Electrical and Electronic   Engineering

Dr Imad Jaimoukha

x46279 i.jaimoukha@imperial.ac.uk

Materials

Prof Alexandra Porter (PG taught)

x49691 a.porter@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Aron Walsh (PG research)

x41178 a.walsh@imperial.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Prof Ferdinando Rodriguez Y Baena (PG research)

x47046 f.rodriguez@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Amir Kadiric (PG research - deputy)

x41717 a.kadiric@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Ulrich Hansen (PG taught)

x47061 u.hansen@imperial.ac.uk


 

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

 

Department of Brain Science and Department of Metabolism

PG research:

Dr Kevin Murphy

k.g.murphy@imperial.ac.uk

Hailey Kendall-Berry

h.kendall@imperial.ac.uk

PG taught:

Dr Wayne Mitchell

w.mitchell@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Infectious disease and Department of Immunology and Inflammation

PG research:

Dr Kevin Murphy

k.g.murphy@imperial.ac.uk

Hailey Kendall-Berry

h.kendall@imperial.ac.uk

PG taught:

Dr Suzie Barr

s.barr@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Surgery and Cancer

PG research:

Jennifer Simeon

j.simeon@imperial.ac.uk

PG taught:

Dr Alison Cambrey

a.cambrey@imperial.ac.uk

Institute of Clinical Sciences

Dr Simona Parrinello

020 3313 8235 simona.parrinello@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Chris Speck

020 3313 3387 chris.speck@imperial.ac.uk

National Heart and Lung Institute

Dr Duncan Rogers

x47872 Duncan.rogers@imperial.ac.uk

School of Public Health

Dr Christina Atchison

christina.atchison11@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES

 

Chemistry

Dr Rob Davies

x45754 r.davies@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Keith Willison

x45807 keith.willison@imperial.ac.uk

Silvia Diez-Gonzalez

x49699 s.diez-gonzalez@imperial.ac.uk

Mathematics

Dr Anthony Bellotti

x48521 a.bellotti@imperial.ac.uk

Physics

Dr Arnaud Czaja

x41789 a.czaja@imperial.ac.uk

Life Sciences

Dr Neil Fairweather (South Kensington)

x45247 n.fairweather@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Julia Schroeder (Silwood Park)

x49086 julia.schroeder@imperial.ac.uk

Centre for Environmental Policy

Dr Ioannis Kountaris

x49316 i.kountouras@imperial.ac.uk

BUSINESS SCHOOL

Dr Martin Haugh (PG Research Tutor, Doctoral Programme & MRes)

m.haugh@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Maurizio Zollo (Finance Suite)

x42163 m.zollo@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Harveen Chugh (Management Masters)

x41047 h.chugh@imperial.ac.uk

Mr Colin Love (Management Masters)

x47439 c.love@imperial.ac.uk

Professor James Barlow (Specialised Masters)

x45936 j.barlow@imperial.ac.uk

Ms Marie-Jo Wilson (Professional Development and Careers Specialised Masters)

x46305 marie.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

CENTRE FOR HIGHER EDUCATION RESEARCH AND SCHOLARSHIP

Dr Annette Mahon

x47375 a.mahon@imperial.ac.uk