Senior Tutors

Your department’s Senior Tutor (UG) has overall responsibility for the academic and pastoral care of undergraduate students in the department.   For postgraduate students this role is fulfilled by your Senior Tutor (PG).  These experienced colleagues will be able to guide and support you in handling individual student problems or queries, and you should consult them if you are uncertain of how to proceed or would value a second opinion.  Except in the case of familiar or straightforward interactions, Personal Tutors are advised to keep the Senior Tutor informed of their actions or to discuss an individual case before taking action with a student.

Faculty Senior Tutors

The Senior Tutor team are supported by a Faculty Senior Tutor. The Faculty Senior Tutors have responsibility for ensuring the delivery of consistent, high quality support for students in their personal, general academic and professional development.  Working with and supporting Personal Tutors and Senior Tutors, they ensure that support systems are effective, that training is appropriate and that College policies in student support are implemented.  In addition, each Faculty Senior Tutor provides support to their senior tutors and directly to students who have more complex concerns or situations.

The Faculty Senior Tutors are available for additional support and guidance, augmenting the support that your department can provide for academic and personal matters. You may find a Faculty Senior Tutor particularly useful if you have a matter which you feel is highly sensitive or complicated and wish to ensure that you will be talking to the right person or team to help you. The details of the Faculty Senior Tutors are in the table below.

FacultyFaculty Senior TutorEmail address
Business School Dr Benita (Baggy) Cox  b.cox@imperial.ac.uk
Faculty of Engineering Dr Lorraine Craig  l.craig@imperial.ac.uk
Faculty of Natural Sciences Professor John Seddon fons-seniortutor@imperial.ac.uk
Faculty of Medicine Dr Jeffrey Vernon j.vernon@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

Experience and involving

Their experience


Senior Tutors will normally have had a lot of experience as Personal Tutors themselves and are a good source of information on what to do in tricky or unusual situations. They will have detailed knowledge of the structure of the UG or PG programme and will have dealt with various academic and support services in the College (Registry, Health Centre, Disability Advisory Service etc). They normally attend monthly Senior Tutor Forums where current issues concerning students are discussed. There are regular training sessions for new Senior Tutors. In some departments the Senior Tutor is aided by a Student Liaison Officer (or similar), responsible for the pastoral care aspects of the role.

When to involve them


The Senior Tutor  is normally in charge of their department’s personal tutorial system.  It is important that Senior Tutors  are informed promptly of any major personal or academic problems with tutees, and in particular about repeated absences. Senior Tutors usually have undergraduate discipline in the department devolved to them by the Head of Department and will normally be involved with assessing alleged cases of plagiarism.

It is very important that Personal Tutors do not take certain matters into their own hands e.g. in cases where a student wishes to lodge a complaint against a member of staff, or reports financial issues or visa queries (also consult International Student Support).  In fact, anything which is potentially controversial should be directed to the Senior Tutor.

When involving your Senior Tutor there is guidance on how to manage confidentiality and disclosure of student information that you should be aware of.  Also, your tutee may wish to go directly to the Senior Tutor and should be made aware of this. 

Tutors

Senior Tutor (UG)

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING

 

Aeronautics

Dr Sylvain Laizet; x 45045; aero.seniortutor@imperial.ac.uk

Bioengineering

Dr Emm Drakakis; x 45182; e.drakakis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Claire Higgins (deputy); x 45826 ; c.higgins@imperial.ac.uk 

Chemical Engineering

Dr Andreas Kogelbauer; x 45572; a.kogelbauer@imperial.ac.uk

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr Andrew Phillips; x 46801; andrew.phillips@imperial.ac.uk

Computing

Dr Maria Valera-Espina ; x 43089;   m.valera-espina@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Duncan Gillies (deputy); x 48317;   d.gillies@imperial.ac.uk

Dyson School of Design Engineering

Dr Mazdak Ghajari; x 49236;  m.ghajari@imperial.ac.uk

Earth Science and Engineering

Dr Emma Passmore; x 46429;  e.passmore@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth Day (deputy); x 46529; e.day@imperial.ac.uk 

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Mrs Esther Perea; x 46160; e.perea@imperial.ac.uk

Materials

Dr Paul J. Franklyn; x 46725; p.franklyn@imperial.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Dr Andrew (Fred) Marquis; x 47040; a.marquis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Julie Varley (deputy); x 47089; j.varley@imperial.ac.uk 


 

 

FACULTY OF MEDICINE  

Department of Medicine

Professor Louise Donnelly (Medicine, Year 1); l.donnelly@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Mark Nelson (Medicine, Year 2); mark.nelson@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Debbie Jarvis (Medicine, Year 3); d.jarvis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Julia Hillier (Interim) (Medicine, Year 4); j.hillier@imperial.ac.uk           

Dr Graeme Wilson (Medicine, Year 5); g.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Mike Schachter (Medicine, Year 6); m.schachter@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rebecca Salter (Biomedical Sciences & Medical Biosciences); r.salter@imperial.ac.uk; rebecca.salter@nhs.net

Dr Julia Hillier (Director of Student Tutoring & Support); j.hillier@imperial.ac.uk

Hammersmith Campus, MSc in Human Molecular Genetics:

Dr Toby Andrew; x 46511; t.andrew@imperial.ac.uk

National Heart and Lung   Institute

Prof Uta Griesenbach; x 47927; u.griesenbach@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Debbie Jarvis; x47944; d.jarvis@imperial.ac.uk

School of Public Health

St Mary's Campus, Charing Cross Campus:

Dr Christine Franey; x 40793; c.franey@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES

 

Chemistry

Dr Rob Law; x45860; r.law@imperial.ac.uk

Mathematics

Dr Christopher Ford; x49165; c.ford@imperial.ac.uk

Physics

Dr Ingo Mueller-Wodarg; x47524;  ph.stutor@imperial.ac.uk

Life Sciences

Dr Stuart Haslam (Biochemistry); x 45222; s.haslam@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Stephen Brickley (Biological Sciences); x 47699; s.brickley@imperial.ac.uk

BUSINESS  SCHOOL

Dr Edgar Meyer (UG Programmes, Summer School and MBA Suite); x47160; e.meyer@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

Senior Tutors (PG)

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING

 

Aeronautics

Dr Francesco Montomoli (PGT) x 45151; f.Montomoli@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Paul Bruce (PGR) x 45048; p.bruce@imperial.ac.uk 

Bioengineering

Dr Tom Ellis (PGT and PGR) x 47615, t.ellis@imperial.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering

Prof Paul Luckham (PGT and PGR) x 45583; p.luckham01@imperial.ac.uk

Civil and Environmental   Engineering

Dr Ana M Ruiz-Teran x 46005; a.ruiz-teran@imperial.ac.uk 

Computing

Prof Sophia Drossopolou; x 48368; s.drossopolou@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Fariba Sadri (PGT); x 48224;  f.sadri@imperial.ac.uk

Dyson School of Design   Engineering

Mr Andy Brand (PGT); andrew.brand@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Pelin Demirel (PGR); p.demirel@imperial.ac.uk

Earth Science and Engineering

Prof Peter Allison (PGR); x 46479; p.allison@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Peter Fitch (PGT); x 49521; p.fitch@imperial.ac.uk

Electrical and Electronic   Engineering

Dr Imad Jaimoukha; x 46279; i.jaimoukha@imperial.ac.uk

Materials

Prof Alexandra Porter (PGT); x 49691; a.porter@imperial.ac.uk 

Prof Aron Walsh (PGR); x 41178; a.walsh

Mechanical Engineering

Prof Ferdinando Rodriguez Y Baena (PGR); x 47046; f.rodriguez@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Amir Kadiric (deputy) (PGR); x 41717; a.kadiric@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Ulrich Hansen (PGT); x 47061; u.hansen


 

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

 

Institute of Clinical Sciences

Dr Simona Parrinello; 020 3313 8235; simona.parrinello@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Chris Speck; 020 3313 3387; chris.speck@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Medicine

Dr Kevin Murphy; 3313 2820; k.g.murphy@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Amir Hakim (Hammersmith & St Mary's Clinical); 020 7594 3697; a.hakim08@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Wayne Mitchell (Hammersmith & St Mary's Non-Clinical); 020 3313 2358; w.mitchell@imperial.ac.uk

National Heart and Lung Institute

Dr Vania Braga; x 43233; v.braga@imperial.ac.uk;

Dr Duncan Rogers x 47872 Duncan.rogers@imperial.ac.uk

School of Public Health

Prof Marjo-Ritta Jarvelin; x 43345; m.jarvelin@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Surgery and Cancer

Ms Susan Farrell; x40894; susan.farrell@imperial.ac.uk

FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES

 

Chemistry

Dr Rob Davies; x 45754; r.davies@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Keith Willison; x 45807; keith.willison@imperial.ac.uk

Silvia Diez-Gonzalez; x 49699; s.diez-gonzalez@imperial.ac.uk

Mathematics

Dr Anthony Bellotti; x 48521; a.bellotti@imperial.ac.uk

Physics

Dr Arnaud Czaja; x 41789; a.czaja@imperial.ac.uk

Life Sciences

Dr Neil Fairweather (South Kensington); x 45247; n.fairweather@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Julia Schroeder (Silwood Park); x 49086; julia.schroeder@imperial.ac.uk

Centre for Environmental Policy

Dr Ioannis Kountaris; x 49316; i.kountouras@imperial.ac.uk

BUSINESS SCHOOL

Dr Martin Haugh (PG Research Tutor, Doctoral Programme & MRes); m.haugh@imperial.ac.uk

Prof. Maurizio Zollo (Finance Suite) x42163; m.zollo@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Harveen Chugh (Management Masters) x41047; h.chugh@imperial.ac.uk

Mr Colin Love (Management Masters) x47439; c.love@imperial.ac.uk

Prof. James Barlow (Specialised Masters) x45936; j.barlow@imperial.ac.uk

Ms Marie-Jo Wilson (Professional Development and Careers Specialised Masters); x46305; Marie.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

EDUCATIONAL DEVELOPMENT UNIT

Ms Kate Ippolito; x 48789; k.ippolito@imperial.ac.uk