We offer three, four and five year study options for the BSc Biochemistry or Biotechnology with Management programmes:

  • The three-year programmes include two years studying biochemistry or biotechnology, followed by one year in the Business School
  • The four-year programmes bring the first three years up to the same level as the full BSc Biochemistry or Biotechnology programme, followed by a year in the Business School.
  • The five-year programmes include a placement year in industry or research.

Find out more about the course structure, entry requirements and how to apply.

Information for current students

Key teaching staff

 Dr Huw Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Huw Williams

Email
Website

Dr Patrik Jones

Admissions Tutor

Dr Patrik Jones
Website

 Dr Robert Weinzierl

Chair of the Board of Examiners

Dr Robert Weinzierl
Website

 Dr Dave Hartley

Senior Teaching Fellow, Research Abroad and Year in Industry/Research Coordinator

Dr Dave Hartley
Website

 Dr Stuart Haslam

Senior Tutor

Dr Stuart Haslam
Website

 Dr Derek Huntley

Second YEAR COVENOR

Dr Derek Huntley
Website

Dr Steve Connolly

Undergraduate Liaison Officer AND CAREERS ADVISER

Dr Steve Connolly
Website

Dr Anita Hall

Senior Teaching Fellow and First Year Convenor

Dr Anita Hall
Website

Key teaching staff

All staff

Biochemistry and Biotechnology teaching staff

Staff nameTeaching PositionEmailRoom Number
Dr Geoff Baldwin   g.baldwin 508 SAF
Professor Jake Baum   jake.baum 609 SAF
Dr Morgan Beeby   m.beeby  502 SEC
Dr Kostas Beis   konstantinos.beis Diamond
Professor Hugh Brady   h.brady 504 SAF
Professor Stephen Brickley   s.brickley 402A SEC
Dr Doryen Bubeck   d.bubeck  506 SEC
Professor Bernadette Byrne   b.byrne 128 SEC
Professor George Christophides   g.christophides 616 SAF
Dr Abigail Clements   a.clements   Lvl1, Flowers
Dr Ernesto Cota   e.cota 502 SEC
Professor Stephen Curry   s.curry 404A SEC
Dr Alfonso De Simone   adesimon 603 SEC
Professor Anne Dell FRS  Head, Department of Life Sciences a.dell 101B SEC
Professor Kurt Drickamer   k.drickamer 606 SEC
Professor Robert Endres   r.endres 303 SEC
Dr Virginia Fairclough   virginia.fairclough08 239 SEC
Professor Alain Filloux   a.filloux 1.42 Flowers
Professor Gad Frankel   g.frankel 1.46 Flowers
Professor Nick Franks   n.franks H736A Huxley
Dr Giorgio F. Gilestro   g.gilestro 408 SEC
Dr Niki Gounaris   k.gounaris 205 SEC
Dr Anita Hall Biochemistry Women's Tutor & First Year Convenor anita.hall 601 SEC
Dr Dave Hartley Research Abroad & Year in Industry/Research Co-ordinator d.hartley 206 SEC
Dr Stuart Haslam Senior Tutor s.haslam 101A SEC
Professor Erhard Hohenester   e.hohenester 406 SEC
Dr Derek Huntley Second Year Convenor d.huntley 3rd Floor SEC
Dr Patrik R Jones
  p.jones 503 SAF 
Professor Cristina Lo Celso   c.lo-celso 603 SAF
Dr David Mann   d.mann 605 SEC
Professor Steve Matthews   s.j.matthews 506 SEC
Dr James Murray   j.w.murray 724 SEC
Professor Peter Nixon   p.nixon 705 SEC
Dr Kenji Okuse   k.okuse 406 SEC
Professor Gloria Rudenko   g.rudenko 604 SAF
Professor Bill Rutherford   a.rutherford 702 SEC
Professor Murray Selkirk   m.selkirk 204 SEC
Dr Tony D. Southall   t.southall 220 SEC
Professor Mike Sternberg   m.sternberg 306 SEC
Dr Maureen Taylor   m.taylor 607 SEC
Professor Jasper van Thor   j.vanthor 404 SEC
Dr Robert Weinzierl Chairman, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Board of Examiners r.weinzierl 550 SAF
Professor Bill Wisden   w.wisden 401B SEC
SAF -  Sir Alexander Fleming Building
SEC - Sir Ernst Chain Building

Exam dates

Biochemistry and Biotechnology exam timetable 2019-20

First Year 

     
Biological Chemistry 13-Jan-20 1000-1300  
Cell Biology 15-Feb-20 1000-1300  
Enzymes and Metabolism 04-May-20 1400-1700  
Molecular Biology 07-May-20 1400-1700  
       

Second Year

     
Fundamentals of Molecular Biochemistry 14-Jan-20 1000-1300  
Genes and Genomics 16-Jan-20 1000-1300  
Protein Science 09-Jun-20 1400-1700  
Integrative Cell Biology 12-Jun-20 1400-1700  
Applied Molecular Biochemistry 16-Jun-20 1400-1700  
Challenges in Cell Biology 16-Jun-20 1400-1700  
Topics in Biotechnology 16-Jun-20 1400-1700  
       

Final Year 

     
Damage and Repair in Biological Systems 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Structural Biology and Drug Design 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Stem Cells, Regeneration and Ageing 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Metabolic and Network Engineering 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Medical Microbiology 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Neuroscience Research 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Plant Biotechnology and Development 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Principles of Development 06-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
       
Cancer 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Mechanisms of Gene Expression 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Advanced Bacterial and Eukaryotic Cell Biology 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Integrative Systems Biology 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Parasitology and Vector Biology 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Symbiosis, Plant Immunity and Disease 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Infection and Immunity 08-Jan-20 1400-1700 460/560 SAF
       
Medical Glycobiology 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biotechnology Applications of Proteins 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Boinformatics 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Synthetic Biology 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Systems Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain in Health & Disease 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biodiversity Genomics 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield
Advanced Immunology 21-Feb-20 1000-1300 Great Hall, Sherfield

Resit Examinations

Resit Examinations: Tues 01 Sept - Fri 04 Sept Aug 2020 (timetable to be finalised and circulated at end of July 2020)