We offer three, four and five year study options for the BSc Biochemistry or Biotechnology with Management programmes:

  • The three-year programmes include two years studying biochemistry or biotechnology, followed by one year in the Business School
  • The four-year programmes bring the first three years up to the same level as the full BSc Biochemistry or Biotechnology programme, followed by a year in the Business School.
  • The five-year programmes include a placement year in industry or research.

Find out more about the course structure, entry requirements and how to apply.

Information for current students

Key teaching staff

 Dr Huw Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Huw Williams

Email
Website

Dr Patrik Jones

Admissions Tutor

Dr Patrik Jones
Website

 Dr Robert Weinzierl

Chair of the Board of Examiners

Dr Robert Weinzierl
Website

 Dr Dave Hartley

Senior Teaching Fellow, Research Abroad and Year in Industry/Research Coordinator

Dr Dave Hartley
Website

 Dr Stuart Haslam

Senior Tutor

Dr Stuart Haslam
Website

 Professor Kurt Drickamer

First Year Covenor

Professor Kurt Drickamer
Website

 Dr Derek Huntley

Second YEAR COVENOR

Dr Derek Huntley
Website

Dr Steve Connolly

Undergraduate Liaison Officer

Dr Steve Connolly
Website

Dr Anita Hall

Senior Teaching Fellow and Careers Adviser

Dr Anita Hall
Website

Key teaching staff

All staff

Biochemistry and Biotechnology teaching staff

Staff nameTeaching PositionEmailRoom Number
Dr Geoff Baldwin   g.baldwin 508 SAF
Professor Jim Barber   j.barber 711 SEC
Dr Jake Baum   jake.baum 609 SAF
Dr Morgan Beeby   m.beeby  502 SEC
Dr Kostas Beis   konstantinos.beis Diamond
Dr Hugh Brady   h.brady 504 SAF
Dr Stephen Brickley   s.brickley 402A SEC
Doryen Bubeck   d.bubeck  
Dr Bernadette Byrne   b.byrne 128 SEC
Dr George Christophides   g.christophides 616 SAF
Dr Abigail Clements   a.clements   Lvl1, Flowers
Dr Ernesto Cota   e.cota 502 SEC
Professor Stephen Curry   s.curry 404A SEC
Dr Alfonso De Simone   adesimon 603 SEC
Professor Anne Dell FRS  Head, Department of Life Sciences a.dell 101B SEC
Professor Kurt Drickamer  First Year Conovenor k.drickamer 606 SEC
Dr Robert Endres   r.endres 303 SEC
Professor Neil Fairweather   n.fairweather 1.45 Flowers
Professor Alain Filloux   a.filloux 1.42 Flowers
Professor Gad Frankel   g.frankel 1.46 Flowers
Professor Nick Franks   n.franks H736A Huxley
Dr Giorgio F. Gilestro   g.gilestro 408 SEC
Dr Niki Gounaris   k.gounaris 205 SEC
Dr Anita Hall Biochemistry Women's Tutor anita.hall 601 SEC
Dr Stephen Hare   s.hare 505 SEC
Dr Dave Hartley Research Abroad & Year in Industry/Research Co-ordinator d.hartley 206 SEC
Dr Stuart Haslam Senior Tutor s.haslam 101A SEC
Dr John Heap   j.heap 6th Floor, Bessemer Building
Professor Erhard Hohenester   e.hohenester 406 SEC
Derek Huntley  Second Year Convenor d.huntley 3rd Floor SEC
Professor So Iwata   s.iwata Diamond
Dr Patrik R Jones
  p.jones 503 SAF 
Dr Cristina Lo Celso   c.lo-celso 603 SAF
Dr David Mann   d.mann 605 SEC
Professor Steve Matthews   s.j.matthews 506 SEC
Dr James Murray   j.w.murray 724 SEC
Professor Peter Nixon   p.nixon 705 SEC
Dr Kenji Okuse   k.okuse 406 SEC
Dr John Pinney   j.pinney 318 SEC
Dr Karen Polizzi   k.polizzi 608 Bessemer
Dr Gloria Rudenko   g.rudenko 604 SAF
Professor Bill Rutherford   a.rutherford 702 SEC
Professor Murray Selkirk   m.selkirk 204 SEC
Dr Tony D. Southall   t.southall 220 SEC
Professor Mike Sternberg   m.sternberg 306 SEC
Professor Michael Stumpf   m.stumpf 315 SEC
Dr Maureen Taylor   m.taylor 607 SEC
Dr Jasper van Thor   j.vanthor 404 SEC
Dr Robert Weinzierl Chairman, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Board of Examiners r.weinzierl 550 SAF
Professor Bill Wisden   w.wisden 401B SEC
SAF -  Sir Alexander Fleming Building
SEC - Sir Ernst Chain Building

Exam dates

Biochemistry and Biotechnology exam timetable 2016-17

First Year 

Biological Chemistry 31st January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Cell Biology 2nd February 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Proteins & Enzymes 15th June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Molecular Biology 22nd June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
 

Second Year

Fundamentals of Molecular Biochemistry 18th January 2017 9.30-12.30 Great Hall, Sherfield
Genes and Genomics 19th January 2017 13.00-16.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Protein Science 14th June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Integrative Cell Biology 19th June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Applied Molecular Biochemistry 23rd June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Challenges in Cell Biology 23rd June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Topics in Biotechnology 23rd June 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
 

Final Year

Stem Cells, Regeneration and Ageing 9th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Damage & Repair in Biological Systems 9th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Macromolecules in 3D 9th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Medical Microbiology 9th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Plant Biotechnology and Development 9th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Neuroscience Research: From Molecules to Mind 9th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
 
Mechanisms of Gene Expression 11th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Cancer 11th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Integrative Systems Biology 11th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Parasitology and Vector Biology 11th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Symbiosis, Plant Immunity and Disease 11th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Infection and Immunity 11th January 2017 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
 
Medical Glycobiology 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
Biotech Applications of Proteins 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
Systems Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain in Health & Disease 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
Synthetic Biology 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
Bioinformatics 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
Biodiversity Genomics 24th February 2017 10.00-13.00 Great Hall
 

Resit Examinations

Tues 29 Aug - Fri 1 Sept 2017 (timetable to be finalised and circulated at end of July)