We offer three, four and five year study options for the BSc Biochemistry or Biotechnology with Management programmes:

  • The three-year programmes include two years studying biochemistry or biotechnology, followed by one year in the Business School
  • The four-year programmes bring the first three years up to the same level as the full BSc Biochemistry or Biotechnology programme, followed by a year in the Business School.
  • The five-year programmes include a placement year in industry or research.

Find out more about the course structure, entry requirements and how to apply.

Information for current students

Key teaching staff

 Dr Huw Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Huw Williams

Email
Website

Dr Patrik Jones

Admissions Tutor

Dr Patrik Jones
Website

 Dr Robert Weinzierl

Chair of the Board of Examiners

Dr Robert Weinzierl
Website

 Dr Dave Hartley

Senior Teaching Fellow, Research Abroad and Year in Industry/Research Coordinator

Dr Dave Hartley
Website

 Dr Stuart Haslam

Senior Tutor

Dr Stuart Haslam
Website

 

First Year Covenor

Vacant Post

 Dr Derek Huntley

Second YEAR COVENOR

Dr Derek Huntley
Website

Dr Steve Connolly

Undergraduate Liaison Officer AND CAREERS ADVISER

Dr Steve Connolly
Website

Dr Anita Hall

Senior Teaching Fellow

Dr Anita Hall
Website

Key teaching staff

All staff

Biochemistry and Biotechnology teaching staff

Staff nameTeaching PositionEmailRoom Number
Dr Geoff Baldwin   g.baldwin 508 SAF
Professor Jim Barber   j.barber 711 SEC
Dr Jake Baum   jake.baum 609 SAF
Dr Morgan Beeby   m.beeby  502 SEC
Dr Kostas Beis   konstantinos.beis Diamond
Dr Hugh Brady   h.brady 504 SAF
Dr Stephen Brickley   s.brickley 402A SEC
Doryen Bubeck   d.bubeck  
Dr Bernadette Byrne   b.byrne 128 SEC
Dr George Christophides   g.christophides 616 SAF
Dr Abigail Clements   a.clements   Lvl1, Flowers
Dr Ernesto Cota   e.cota 502 SEC
Professor Stephen Curry   s.curry 404A SEC
Dr Alfonso De Simone   adesimon 603 SEC
Professor Anne Dell FRS  Head, Department of Life Sciences a.dell 101B SEC
Professor Kurt Drickamer   k.drickamer 606 SEC
Dr Robert Endres   r.endres 303 SEC
Professor Neil Fairweather   n.fairweather 1.45 Flowers
Professor Alain Filloux   a.filloux 1.42 Flowers
Professor Gad Frankel   g.frankel 1.46 Flowers
Professor Nick Franks   n.franks H736A Huxley
Dr Giorgio F. Gilestro   g.gilestro 408 SEC
Dr Niki Gounaris   k.gounaris 205 SEC
Dr Anita Hall Biochemistry Women's Tutor anita.hall 601 SEC
Dr Stephen Hare   s.hare 505 SEC
Dr Dave Hartley Research Abroad & Year in Industry/Research Co-ordinator d.hartley 206 SEC
Dr Stuart Haslam Senior Tutor s.haslam 101A SEC
Dr John Heap   j.heap 6th Floor, Bessemer Building
Professor Erhard Hohenester   e.hohenester 406 SEC
Derek Huntley  Second Year Convenor d.huntley 3rd Floor SEC
Professor So Iwata   s.iwata Diamond
Dr Patrik R Jones
  p.jones 503 SAF 
Dr Cristina Lo Celso   c.lo-celso 603 SAF
Dr David Mann   d.mann 605 SEC
Professor Steve Matthews   s.j.matthews 506 SEC
Dr James Murray   j.w.murray 724 SEC
Professor Peter Nixon   p.nixon 705 SEC
Dr Kenji Okuse   k.okuse 406 SEC
Dr John Pinney   j.pinney 318 SEC
Dr Karen Polizzi   k.polizzi 608 Bessemer
Dr Gloria Rudenko   g.rudenko 604 SAF
Professor Bill Rutherford   a.rutherford 702 SEC
Professor Murray Selkirk   m.selkirk 204 SEC
Dr Tony D. Southall   t.southall 220 SEC
Professor Mike Sternberg   m.sternberg 306 SEC
Professor Michael Stumpf   m.stumpf 315 SEC
Dr Maureen Taylor   m.taylor 607 SEC
Dr Jasper van Thor   j.vanthor 404 SEC
Dr Robert Weinzierl Chairman, Biochemistry and Biotechnology Board of Examiners r.weinzierl 550 SAF
Professor Bill Wisden   w.wisden 401B SEC
SAF -  Sir Alexander Fleming Building
SEC - Sir Ernst Chain Building

Exam dates

Biochemistry and Biotechnology exam timetable 2017-18

First Year 

     
Biological Chemistry 30-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Cell Biology 01-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Proteins & Enzymes 14-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Molecular Biology 21-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       

Second Year

     
Fundamentals of Molecular Biochemistry 16-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Genes and Genomics 18-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Protein Science 13-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Integrative Cell Biology 18-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Applied Molecular Biochemistry 22-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Challenges in Cell Biology 22-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Topics in Biotechnology 22-Jun-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       

Final Year 

     
Damage and Repair in Biological Systems 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Structural Biology and Drug Design 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Stem Cells, Regeneration and Ageing 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Metabolic and Network Engineering 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Medical Microbiology 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Neuroscience Research 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Plant Biotechnology and Development 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Principles of Development 08-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       
Cancer 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Mechanisms of Gene Expression 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Bacterial and Eukaryotic Cell Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Integrative Systems Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Parasitology and Vector Biology 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Symbiosis, Plant Immunity and Disease 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
Advanced Topics in Infection and Immunity 10-Jan-18 10.00-13.00 460/560 SAF
       
Medical Glycobiology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biotechnology Applications of Proteins 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Boinformatics 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Synthetic Biology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Systems Neuroscience: Exploring the Brain in Health & Disease 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Biodiversity Genomics 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield
Advanced Immunology 23-Feb-18 10.00-13.00 Great Hall, Sherfield

Resit Examinations

Tues 28 Aug - Fri 31 Aug 2018 (timetable to be finalised and circulated at end of July)