PhD Opportunities within MARC

Are you a clinician? Are you looking to undertake a PhD to build your academic career?

The MRC Addiction Research Clinical (MARC) Training programme is led by Prof Anne Lingford-Hughes at Imperial College London, with Prof Colin Drummond at King’s College London and Prof Matt Hickman at University of Bristol. The vision of the MARC programme is to develop the future UK clinical research leaders in addiction to build and sustain capacity in this vital area of clinical neuroscience and address the gap in clinical research capacity in the addictions field in the UK. MARC can support clinicians (eg psychiatrists, psychologists etc) to undertake a PhD to train in a range of research approaches and techniques to effectively translate basic and epidemiological evidence into the clinical environment using early (T1, T2) experimental medicine studies in patients for the benefit of clinical populations and their treatment.

For more information contact the MARC Team marc@imperial.ac.uk  or contact the MARC leads directly  Anne Lingford-Hughes (Imperial College London), Colin Drummond (King's College London) or Matthew Hickman (University of Bristol).

Imperial College Contacts

WhoArea of ExpertiseEmail
 Professor Anne Lingford-Hughes (MARC Lead) Neuroimaging, pharmacology, clinical trials, experimental medicine  anne.lingford-hughes@imperial.ac.uk
 Professor David Nutt Pharmacology, experimental medicine, neuroimaging  d.nutt@imperial.ac.uk
 Dr Jim Myers PET neuroimaging methodology  j.myers@imperial.ac.uk
 Professor David Sharp Brain inflammation, traumatic brain injury, neuroimaging  david.sharp@imperial.ac.uk
 Dr Henrietta Bowden-Jones Lead clinician for National Gambling Clinic, neuropsychology  h.bowdenjones02@imperial.ac.uk
 Dr Tony Goldstone Endocrinology, appetite and eating behaviours, cognitive assessment, neuroimaging  tony.goldstone@imperial.ac.uk
 
Summary of the table's contents

King's College Contacts

WhoArea of ExpertiseEmail
 Professor Colin Drummond (MARC Lead) Alcohol clinical and experimental research  colin.drummond@kcl.ac.uk
 Professor John Strang Drugs clinical and experimental research  John.Strang@kcl.ac.uk
 Professor Gunter Schumann Addiction biology, genetics, brain mechanisms of addiction  gunter.schumann@kcl.ac.uk
 Professor John Marsden Psychology of Addiction, experimental studies, clinical trials  john.marsden@kcl.ac.uk
 Professor Michael Lynskey Genetic and environmental influences on addiction, twin studies  michael.lynskey@kcl.ac.uk
 Professor Ann McNeil Tobacco addiction, psychology of addiction, tobacco control policy  ann.mcneill@kcl.ac.uk
 Dr Paolo Deluca Novel psychoactive substances, e-health interventions, prescription drug dependence  Paolo.Deluca@kcl.ac.uk
 
Summary of the table's contents

University of Bristol Contacts

WhoArea of ExpertiseEmail
 Professor Matt Hickman (MARC Lead) Public health and addiction epidemiology  matthew.hickman@bristol.ac.uk
 Professor Marcus Munafo Experimental Psychology, genetics of alcohol and tobacco.  Marcus.Munafo@bristol.ac.uk
 Professor Stan Zammit Clinical Epidemiology and genetic epidemiology of psychiatric disorders  Stan.Zammit@bristol.ac.uk
 Dr Tim Williams Addiction psychiatry and psychopharmacology  Tim.Williams@bristol.ac.uk
 Professor Graeme Henderson Heroin addiction, opioid tolerance, psychopharmacology  Graeme.Henderson@bristol.ac.uk
 Dr Emma Robinson Psychopharmacology  Emma.S.J.Robinson@bristol.ac.uk
 Professor Caroline Relton Genetic & Epigenetic Epidemiology  Caroline.Relton@bristol.ac.uk
 Professor Kate Tilling Medical Statistics, Causal Modelling, Longitudinal Modelling incl epigenetic data  Kate.Tilling@bristol.ac.uk
 Professor John Macleod  Primary care and addiction epidemiology, record linkage  John.MacLeod@bristol.ac.uk