VPAGE Dates 2016/17

All meetings take place from 10:00 to 12:00 in the Faculty Boardroom, 4th Floor Faculty Building unless where stated

Thursday 15 September

Thursday 13 October

Thursday 3 November (SALC 1)

Monday 19 December (SALC 2)

Thursday 12 January

Thursday 9 February

Thursday 9 March

Thursday 30 March 1130 - 1330

Thursday 11 May

Thursday 15 June

Thursday 13 July

For information on agenda, or papers or to send apologies, please contact the Secretary - Executive PA to the Vice-Provost (Education) Joanna Ivison, 020 7594 8807.

All papers to be submitted by the Wednesday of the week prior to the meeting



Core membership

Professor Simone Buitendijk Vice-Provost (Education) Chair

Emma Caseley Head of Strategic Projects

Professor Lorraine Craig  Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching, Faculty of Engineering

Professor Alan Spivey Vice-Dean (Education), Faculty of Natural Sciences

Martin Lupton Associate Dean and Head of the Undergraduate School of Medicine

Diane Morgan Associate Dean of Programmes, Business School

Professor Denis Wright College Senior Tutor

Nas Andriopoulos President, Imperial College Union

Ahmed Shamso President, Graduate Students’ Union

Luke McCrone Deputy President (Education), Imperial College Union

David Ashton Academic Registrar 

Jane Neary Director of Campus Services 

Elspeth Farrar Director of Careers Service

Professor Sue Gibson Director of the Graduate School

Martyn Kingsbury Director of Educational Development

Frances Boyle Deputy Director of Library Services

Malcolm Edwards Director of Strategic Planning

Andrew Tebbutt Director of Student Recruitment & Outreach

Mike Horner, Service Line Manager (Education), Information and Communication Technologies

A member of the E-Learning Advisory Panel


Other ad-hoc members according to the business being discussed.


Terms of Reference

The role of this group is to:

1. Advise the Vice-Provost (Education) on:
  1. All matters relating to the educational and student experience strands of the College Strategy to ensure they are continually developed and enhanced.
  2. Responses to external consultations on education and the student experience.
  3. Opportunities to communicate and promote the profile of education and the student experience at Imperial College.
  4. Best practice from across the sector that can inform enhancement within College.
2. Receive and consider reports from:

    i.  Faculty of Engineering Education Committee

    ii   Faculty of Natural Sciences Education Committee

    iii   Faculty of Medicine Education Committee

    iv  Imperial College Business School Education Committee

    v   School of Professional Development Education Committee

    vi. Student Support and Wellbeing Committee

Other Educational Governance Committees


Quality Assurance

Quality assurance is an essential part of maintaining good practice across the College, as well as being a basic requirement of HEFCE and Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) guidelines. The College has developed quality assurance and enhancement policies and procedures to support the achievement of its educational strategic intents.

The Vice-Provost (Education) chairs the Quality Assurance and Enhancement Committee (QAEC) and also sits on Senate. More information about the both the strategy and quality education committee structure can be found on the Governance Structure webpages.