Research degree handbook


The research degree handbook for current students provides important guidance for PhD students.

Please also see our 'PhD induction' page for further information.

The Department currently hosts over 350 research degree students, including basic scientists and clinicians, across six campus sites in five Divisions and 17 sections, making it one of the largest research degree programmes in the College.

Research degree handbook

The research degree handbook informs you about the support available to you throughout your research degree programme.

Information is provided about the following:

  • Policies, procedures and milestone requirements
  • The Graduate School
  • Professional Development courses on offer
  • The roles of the supervisor, Section Cohort Leaders, Student Representatives, and Higher Degrees Research Committee
  • What procedures to follow do if you have an issue or problem

Dean’s Internship Awards

The Dean’s Internship Awards scheme supports all Department of Medicine PhD students in gaining experience and insight across different sectors and in building valuable networks, by funding a wide range of research and training activities. Further information can be found on the Dean's Internship Awards page.


PhD Student Representatives 2017-18
NameContact details
Student Rep for Chelsea & Westminster - Holly Jenkins  holly.jenkins14@imperial.ac.uk 
Student Reps for St Mary's - Helen Groves and Jonas Mackerodt   h.groves14@imperial.ac.uk ,  jonas.makerodt16@imperial.ac.uk

Student Reps for South Kensington - Merve Zeden, Amy R Switzer, and Kam Po Ha

merve.zeden11@imperial.ac.uk , amy.switzer09@imperial.ac.uk , kam.ha10@imperial.ac.uk

Student Reps for Hammersmith -  Mariana Norton, Nichola Naylor 

mariana.norton12@imperial.ac.ukn.naylor@imperial.ac.uk  

Student Reps for Hammersmith - Kristin Huse and  Grace Birch  K.huse16@imperial.ac.ukg.birch15@imperial.ac.uk
Student Rep for Genomics - Hannah Maude  hannah.maude12@imperial.ac.uk 
Student Reps for Burlington Danes -  Ben Tilley and Luigi Montibeller benison.tilley12@imperial.ac.uk  , l.montibeller16@imperial.ac.uk 
Student Rep for Clinical Students - George Nesr g.nesr15@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents