Research degree handbook


The research degree handbook for current students provides important guidance for PhD students.

Please also see our 'PhD induction' page for further information.

The Department currently hosts over 350 research degree students, including basic scientists and clinicians, across six campus sites in five Divisions and 17 sections, making it one of the largest research degree programmes in the College.

The research degree handbook informs you about the support available to you throughout your research degree programme.

Information is provided about the following:

  • Policies, procedures and milestone requirements
  • The Graduate School
  • Professional Development courses on offer
  • The roles of the supervisor, Section Cohort Leaders, Student Representatives, and Higher Degrees Research Committee
  • What procedures to follow do if you have an issue or problem

PhD Student Representatives 2016-17
NameContact details
Grace Birch g.birch15@imperial.ac.uk
Helen Groves h.groves14@imperial.ac.uk
Motasim Masood m.masood14@imperial.ac.uk
Nichola Naylor n.naylor@imperial.ac.uk
Mariana Norton mariana.norton12@imperial.ac.uk
Anwar Sayed anwar.sayed13@imperial.ac.uk
Amy R Switzer amy.switzer09@imperial.ac.uk
Olivia Szepietowski olivia.szepietowski11@imperial.ac.uk
Scarlett G Turner s.turner14@imperial.ac.uk
Merve Zeden merve.zeden11@imperial.ac.uk
Midhat Salman m.salman14@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents