What we do

We are working to provide educational inspiration, training and support in an institution committed to a research-led education and student experience of the highest quality."

Professor Martyn Kingsbury, Director of Educational Development

The EDU offers a broad spectrum provision that provides a needs-based and timely approach to the educational development of all who teach Imperial students.

Our provision includes a suite of stand-alone workshops covering various aspects of learning and teaching, a range of taught programmes up to master's level and a bespoke consultancy service for all involved in teaching at Imperial.

We are a part of Imperial's Centre for Higher Education Research and Scholarship.

Who we are

We are a small group of academics and support staff from a variety of different disciplinary backgrounds, the former of whom have experience of teaching and supervision at undergraduate and postgraduate level, with expertise in educational theory and practice.

EDU staff

Professor Martyn Kingsbury

Martyn KingsburyProfessor Martyn Kingsbury
Head of Unit and Director of Educational Development
m.kingsbury@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 1745

Ms Alison Ahearn

Ms Alison Ahearn Ms Alison Ahearn
Principal Teaching Fellow
a.ahearn@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 5981

Dr Mark Anderson

Mark AndersonDr Mark Anderson
Senior Teaching Fellow in Educational Development
m.anderson@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8782

Ms Suyane Beasley

Su BeasleyMs Suyane Beasley
Workshops Coordinator
s.beasley@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8691

Mrs Nikki Boyd

Nikki BoydMrs Nikki Boyd
Senior Teaching Fellow in Medical Education (part-time)
n.boyd@imperial.ac.uk 
+44 (0)20 7594 9956

EDU Staff

Dr Tiffany Chiu

Tiffany ChiuDr Tiffany Chiu
Senior Teaching Fellow in Educational Development
t.chiu@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8711

Dr Jo Horsburgh

Jo HorsburghDr Jo Horsburgh
Principal Teaching Fellow in Medical Education
j.horsburgh@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8848

Mrs Kate Ippolito

Mrs Kate IppolitoMrs Kate Ippolito
Principal Teaching Fellow in Educational Development
k.ippolito@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8789

Dr Annette Mahon

Dr Annette MahonDr Annette Mahon
Lecturer in Educational Development (part-time)
a.mahon@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 7375

Ms Aoife McCarthy

Ms Aoife McCarthyMs Aoife McCarthy
Unit Manager
aoife.mccarthy@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8787

EDU Staff

Dr Iro Ntonia

Iro NtoniaDr Iro Ntonia
Senior Teaching Fellow in Educational Development
i.ntonia@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 5891

Dr Monika Pazio

Monika PazioDr Monika Pazio
Senior Teaching Fellow in Educational Development
m.pazio@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8780

Dr Dave Riley

Dr Dave Dr Dave RileyRiley
Senior Consultant in Educational Development (part-time)
d.riley@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 1151

Ms Ruth Stannard

Ruth StannardMs Ruth Stannard
Programme Coordinator
r.stannard@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8785

Ms Helen Wilkes

Helen WilkesMs Helen Wilkes
STAR Framework and Communications Coordinator
h.wilkes@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8781