Directors

Professor Ajit Lalvani

Professor Ajit Lalvani

Director (Imperial College London)
a.lalvani@imperial.ac.uk


Chair of Infectious Diseases, National Institute of Health Research Senior Investigator and Wellcome Senior Clinical Research Fellow at Imperial College London. Founding Director of the Tuberculosis Research Centre.

Professor Maria Zambon

Professor Maria Zambon

Deputy director (PHE)
maria.zambon@phe.gov.uk


Deputy Director of National Infection Service, Director of Reference Microbiology Services at Public Health England, an Executive Agency of the UK Department of Health, UK National Microbiology Focal Point and Head of the UK WHO National Influenza Centre (NIC).

Professor Grace Smith

Professor Grace Smith

Deputy director (PHE)
grace.smith@phe.gov.uk


Clinical lead for PHE, Consultant Microbiologist for Midlands Regional Centre for Mycobacteriology and Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust, and chairs the multidisciplinary Clinical Group for the Birmingham and Solihull TB Control Programme.

Accordion widget - People

Core support staff

 
NameJob titleContact details
Claire Puddephatt Research Manager c.puddephatt@imperial.ac.uk
Amarjit Badhan Senior Clinical Research Nurse and Study Co-ordinator a.badhan@imperial.ac.uk
Helen Piotrowski Clinical Research Nurse h.piotrowski@imperial.ac.uk
Aime Boakye Clinical Research Assistant afua.boakye12@imperial.ac.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Research theme leads

Please see an organogram of research theme leads - HPRU theme leaders June 2016 (pdf)

Lead researchers (two per theme)Research themeContact details
Professor Steven Riley (Imperial College)  Influenza Surveillance and Modelling s.riley@imperial.ac.uk 
Professor Richard Pebody (PHE) Influenza Surveillance and Modelling richard.pebody@phe.gov.uk
Professor Peter Openshaw (Imperial College) Influenza Severity and Pathogenesis p.openshaw@imperial.ac.uk
Professor Maria Zambon (PHE) Influenza Severity and Pathogenesis maria.zambon@phe.gov.uk
Professor Ajit Lalvani (Imperial College) Influenza Immunology a.lalvani@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Katja Hoschler (PHE) Influenza Immunology katja.hoschler@phe.gov.uk
Professor Wendy Barclay (Imperial College) Influenza Virology w.barclay@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Angie Lackenby (PHE) Influenza Virology angie.lackenby@phe.gov.uk
Professor Ajit Lalvani (Imperial College) Tuberculosis screening a.lalvani@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Dominik Zenner (PHE) Tuberculosis screening dominik.zenner@phe.gov.uk
Professor Derrick Crook (Oxford) Tuberculosis surveillance derrick.crook@ndcls.ox.ac.uk
Professor Grace Smith (PHE) Tuberculosis surveillance grace.smith@phe.gov.uk
Professor Ajit Lalvani (Imperial College) Tuberculosis diagnostics a.lalvani@imperial.ac.uk
Professor Grace Smith (PHE) Tuberculosis diagnostics grace.smith@phe.gov.uk
Professor Sebastian Johnston (Imperial College) Severe Acute Respiratory Infections s.johnston@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Vicki Chalker (PHE) Severe Acute Respiratory Infections vicki.chalker@phe.gov.uk
Professor Peter Openshaw (Imperial College) Respiratory Syncytial Virus p.openshaw@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Monica Galliano (PHE) Respiratory Syncytial Virus monica.galliano@phe.gov.uk
Summary of the table's contents

Theme-specific staff list

NameResearch themeTitle
Daniel GoldHill (PHE) Influenza Virology Post Doctoral Scientist
Blessing Okai (PHE) Influenza Immunology Post Doctoral Scientist
Edwin van Leeuwen (PHE) Influenza Surveillance and Modelling Epidemiologist
Inne Nauwelaers (Imperial College) Respiratory Syncytial Virus PhD student
Luis Carlos Berrocal-Almanza (Imperial College and PHE) TB Screening and TB Surveillance TB Epidemiologist
Christopher Burton (PHE – Porton Down) TB diagnostics Post Doctoral Scientist
Sharon Carney (Imperial College) Severe Acute Respiratory Infections PhD Student
Adam Ainley (Imperial College) Severe Acute Respiratory Infections Clinical Research Fellow
Meera Chand (Imperial College) Severe Acute Respiratory Infections Clinical Research Fellow
Summary of the table's contents

International Scientific Advisory Board

NameRole on BoardTitle(s)
Ben Cowling Influenza epidemiology/Surveillance and Far East input Professor Epidemiology and Head, Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Public Health, University of Hong Kong
Neil Ferguson Epidemiology, outbreak response and cross-HPRU collaboration Professor of Mathematical Biology and Head of School of Public Health, Imperial College
Michael Goold Lay Chair Director, Ashridge Strategic Management Centre, London & Former Chair, Bromley-by-Bow Centre, Tower Hamlets
David Heymann Public Health Strategy input, including pandemic preparedness Non-executive Chair, Public Health England; Chair, Chatham House; Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Mike Morgan  NHS Strategic perspective Respiratory National Clinical Director, NHS England; Consultant Respiratory Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
Zoe Portlock Lay member Director of Services, Bromley by Bow Centre
Guus Rimmelzwaan Influenza immunology/Virology and EU perspective Professor of Immunovirology, Erasmus University, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Summary of the table's contents