The work of the Steering Group

The Technician Commitment Steering Group was established to advance activities in respect of technicians’ development and recognition, under the College's commitment to action in five areas identified by the Science Council as affecting technical staff. Specifically, the Group will: 

  1. Visibility - Ensure that all technicians within the organisation are identifiable and that the contribution of technicians is visible within and beyond the institution
  2. Recognition - Support technicians to gain recognition through professional registration
  3. Career development - Enable career progression opportunities for technicians through the provision of clear, documented career pathways
  4. Sustainability - Ensure the future sustainability of technical skills across the organisation and that technical expertise is fully utilised
  5. Evaluating impact - Regularly assess the impact of actions taken in support of the commitment to ensure their effectiveness

The Steering Group will seek the views and feedback of technical staff as regards initiatives and activities under the Commitment and promote these across the technical community, providing progress updates to the Provost’s Board. The Steering Group will normally meet once each term.

Staff are encouraged to reach out to Steering Group members if they have feedback or suggestions.

Members of the Steering Group

  • Tim Venables

    Tim Venables

    Personal details

    Tim Venables Faculty Operating Officer, Engineering (Chair of the Steering Group)

  • Ailish Harikae

    coming soon

    Personal details

    Ailish Harikae Apprenticeships Manager & Coordinator for the Technician Commitment

  • Joel Abrahams

    Imperial campus

    Personal details

    Joel Abrahams Biological Research Officer, Department of Surgery & Cancer

  • Paul Brown

    Paul Brown

    Personal details

    Paul Brown Mechanical Workshop Instrumentation Manager, Physics

  • Allison Hunter

    Allison Hunter

    Personal details

    Allison Hunter Technical Operations Manager, Life Sciences

  • Ken Keating

    Ken Keating

    Personal details

    Ken Keating Laboratory Manager, Bioengineering

  • Okan Kibaroglu

    Okan Kibaroglu

    Personal details

    Okan Kibaroglu Head of Business Operations, ICT

  • Rakesh Patel

    Rakesh Patel

    Personal details

    Rakesh Patel Head of Maintenance, Estates Division

  • Russell Stracey

    Russell Stracey

    Personal details

    Russell Stracey RSM Workshop Supervisor, Materials

  • Dr Sharron Stubbs

    Sharron Stubbs

    Personal details

    Dr Sharron Stubbs Senior Laboratory Manager, Department of Infectious Disease

  • Monica Suarez

    Monica Suarez

    Personal details

    Monica Suarez ICT Learning & Development Lead, ICT

  • Angela Williams

    Imperial sign

    Personal details

    Angela Williams Learning and Development Officer, Estates Division