James Wilton-Ely

Group Leader – Dr James Wilton-Ely

James received his BSc in Chemistry with a Year in Europe from Imperial College London, spending his year abroad in Florence, Italy. He remained at Imperial College for his PhD studies with Prof. Tony Hill. Following a position as a Fixed-Term Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry at the same institution, he was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship to work with Prof. Hubert Schmidbaur at the Technical University Munich. He returned to the UK to work with Prof. David Cole Hamilton at the University of St. Andrews. This was followed by an independent Ramsay Fellowship at University College London (2003-5) before moving in 2005 to Oxford University as Fitzjames Fellow in Inorganic Chemistry at the Chemistry Research Laboratory and Merton College. In 2009 he was appointed to his current position at Imperial College London.

Find out more about James

Current group members


Xin Shi 

Tamzin Bond
Hannah Perry 
PhD [joint: Prof. Rene Botnar] 

Il-Chul Yoon
Amir Al Ghatta
PhD [with Prof. Jason Hallett]
connor Connor West
MRes/PhD [with Dr Gemma Davies]
Faysal Farah
MRes/PhD [with Prof. Mark Green]
rian Rian Hendley 
PhD [with Prof. Tony Gee]
 khairil Khairil Jantan
gigi Gigi Chiang
MRes [with Dr Angela Serpe]
 fabian Fabian Thomas
 gregor Gregor Ekart 
dilan Dilan Al
MRes [with Dr Angela Serpe]
max Maximilian Hassatzky
MRes [with Dr Angela Serpe]

Xinyi Zhou
MRes [with Prof. Jason Hallett]





Past group members

We have enjoyed working with many talented and enthusiastic students over the years. Past members of the group have been drawn from more than ten countries around the world.

Group photos

 For more photos and news, visit the JWE group's flickr and twitter pages.

Error: Please enter a valid Onezoom URL.