CMS Silicon Tracker installation

The Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment at the Large Hadron Collider

The Compact Muon Solenoid experiment (CMS) is one of the two "general purpose" detectors situated on the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN. Occupying a cathedral-sized cavern under the ground near Cessy, France, and weighing in at around 12,500 tonnes, it has been designed to probe the smallest constituents of matter in an effort to understand some of the most profound questions we can ask of Nature. Imperial College physicists were heavily involved in the design and construction of CMS, and continue to play a leading role as the 3,300-strong CMS Collaboration extracts results from the LHC's countless particle collisions.

Imperial contribution

The Imperial College HEP group contributes to the CMS experiment in three major

  • The detector: the equipment with which we make the measurements;
  • Computing: processing, storing and managing the measurement data, as well as generating simulated data to aid the analysis of our results;
  • Physics: interpreting the data to gain a deeper understanding of Nature.

People involved


Group members: Robert John Bainbridge, Marco Barbone, Daniela Bauer, Samuel Baxter, Raymond Beuselinck, Philippe Bloch, Shameena Bonomally, Johan Erik Borg, Christopher Edward Brown, Oliver Buchmuller, Vincenzo Cacchio, Vilius Cepaitis, Gurpreet Singh Chahal, David Colling, Julia-Suzana Dancu, Paul Dominic Dauncey, Gavin Davies, Joseph William Davies, Michel Della Negra, Giacomo Fedi, Geoff Hall, Mohammadhassan Hassanshahi, Alexander Howard, Gregory Michiel Iles, Matthias Komm, Jonathon Mark Langford, Louis Lyons, Anne-Marie Magnan, Arabella Martelli, Matti Mikael Mieskolainen, David Gabriel Monk, Jordan Nash, Mark Pesaresi, Benjamin Radburn-Smith, David Mark Raymond, Alexander John Richards, Andrew William Rose, Ed Scott, Chris Seez, Raghunandan Shukla, Sioni Paris Summers, Alex Tapper, Kirika Uchida, George Peter Uttley, Liv Helen Vage, Jim Virdee, Milos Vojinovic, Nicholas Wardle, Samuel Webb, Daniel Winterbottom