Health and Safety basic

Danger sign

For emergencies

Dial internal extension 4444 - for all emergencies 

If you cannot get to an internal phone, dial 020 7589 1000 - add this number to your mobile.

Report incidents signs

Incidents reporting

In the event of an accident or near miss please report the incident via SALUS

lab coats

Materials Health and Safety Intranet

For all Materials' Health and Safety lab information please follow this link.

Departmental Safety Officer: Dr Peter Petrov (ext: 48156 or 50321)

Safety personnel in the Department of Materials

Safety personnel in Materials

Name and RoleContact (ext:)Location on South Kensington Campus
Dr Peter Petrov
Departmental Safety Officer and Laser Safety Advisor
48156 or 50321   Bessemer B333
Professor Peter Haynes
Chairman of the Department Health and Safety Committee
 45158 RSM 201a
Mr Stephen Greenwood
Faculty of Engineering Safety Manager
 40821 Faculty Building Level 2
Mr Richard Sweeney
Radiation Safety Protection Officer
 46732 RSM LG.61
Mr Nick Morgan-Smith
DSE Advisor
 47493 RSM 201c
Ms Sabrina Skeete
Biological Safety Advisor
 n/a RSM G.03D
Professor Stephen Skinner
Chemical Safety Advisor
 46782 RSM 206
Dr Victoria Bemmer
Departmental First Aid Coordinator
 56732 RSM LG.60
Mr Russell Stracey
Manual Handling Assessor and Trade Union Representative
 46773 RSM - LG.04
Dr Andrei Mihai
Research Staff Safety Representative
 n/a Bessemer B321
Mr Ben Chan
Teaching Lab Technician
56783 RSM G.04
Mr Jonathan Rackham
PG Safety Representative
 n/a RSM 2M.14
Safety personnel in the Department of Materials

Fire Wardens in Materials

Area  Fire Wardens
RSM Lower Ground Floor Mr Russell Stracey, Mr Garry Stakalls, Mr Richard Sweeney
RSM Ground Floor Dr Martyn McLachlan, Mr Ben Chan
RSM 1st Floor tba
RSM 2nd Floor Dr Iain Dunlop
LCN/TYC corridor (Bessemer) Dr Andrei Mihai, Dr Peter Petrov