What do you need to do to join the study as a researcher?

Were you a PI for FOURIER Outcomes? If so, you may wish to join the study as a researcher.

Please contact the FOURIER Legacy study team by emailing Andrew Whitehouse (a.whitehouse@imperial.ac.uk) or Judy Mackay (j.mackay@imperial.ac.uk) or you can contact the study team.

If you were to take part you would be asked to:

  1. Contact by telephone all your patients who completed a final close-out visit for FOURIER Outcomes (we would supply you with a list of FOURIER IDs for all eligible subjects)
  2. Explain the FOURIER Legacy study to them and ask whether they would be interested.
  3. If they are interested, explain that consent and follow up would be done by the National Coordinating Centre at Imperial College London.
  4. Take verbal consent for their contact details to be sent to Imperial and send details by encrypted email.
  5. Post a copy of the patient information sheet to patients with a pre-paid envelope for returning to Imperial (all to be supplied by NCC)

Payments will be made to participating centres, based on administrative costs and also a per-patient payment for all consented patients.

We encourage researchers to view the FOURIER LEGACY study protocol 2019 (PDF) for further details.

Patient information and consent

The current patient information sheet and consent form can be downloaded here: Participant info and consent form FOURIER (doc).


The full protocol for the FOURIER LEGACY study (version 1.2, dated 23.04.19) is FOURIER LEGACY study protocol 2019 (PDF).

Participating countries within the Europe and South Africa regions

United Kingdom: Principal Investigator Judith Mackay.
Russia: National Investigator Marat Ezhof.
Poland: National Investigator Zbigniew Gaciong.
Hungary: National Investigator Kalman Toth.
Netherlands: National Investigator Jan Wouter Jukema.
Czech Republic: National Investigator to be confirmed.
South Africa: National Investigator Lesley Burgess.

UK FOURIER sites (participation in FOURIER LEGACY to be confirmed)

UK FOURIER sites (participation in FOURIER LEGACY to be confirmed)


  • Beaumont Hospital
  • St James Hospital
  • Portiuncula Hospital
  • National University of Ireland

United Kingdom

  • Blackpool Teaching Hospital
  • Edinburgh Royal Infirmary
  • Nottingham City Hospital
  • Wythenshawe Hospital
  • Worcestershire Royal Hospital
  • Aintree University Hospital
  • Sandwell General Hospital
  • Ashgate Medical Practice
  • Lister Hospital
  • Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Guys and St Thomas NHS Foundation Trust
  • Cape Cornwall Surgery
  • Barts Health NHS Trust
  • Northwick Park Hospital
  • Ninewells Hospital and Medical School
  • St Marys Hospital
  • Hospital of St Cross
  • Ulster Hospital
  • Northampton General Hospital
  • Ormeau Health Centre
  • Portmill Surgery
  • Ashfield Primary Care Centre
  • Basildon University Hospital
  • University Hospital Coventry
  • The Bradford on Avon and Melsham Health Partnership
  • South Axholme Practice
  • City Hospital
  • Princess Royal Hospital
  • Queen Elizabeth II Hospital
  • Sherbourne Medical Centre
  • Whitby Group Practice
  • Luton and Dunstable NHS Foundation Trust Hospital
  • Northern General Hospital
  • Castle Hill Hospital
  • Derriford Hospital
  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital
  • Royal Liverpool University Hospital
  • Highlands Clinical Research Facility
  • James Cook University Hospital
  • Conquest Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Leeds General Infirmary
  • Glenfield Hospital
  • York Hospital
  • Queen Alexandra Hospital
  • Southern General Hospital
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
  • Royal Bournemouth Hospital
  • Rotherham General Hospital
  • Singleton Hospital
  • Torbay Hospital
  • George Eliot Hospital
  • Arrowe Park Hospital
  • Castlemilk Group Practice
  • Morrab Surgery
  • Penalverne Surgery
  • Connor Downs Surgery
  • University Hospital of North Staffordshire
  • Crouch Oak Family Practice
  • Brannel Surgery
  • Rowden Surgery
  • Colchester General Hospital
  • Barnsley Hospital
  • West Suffolk Hospital
  • New Cross Hospital