Faculty of Natural Sciences Annual Prizes for Excellence Winners 2015


Award winners

Celebrating our Outstanding Staff

The Faculty strives to provide a safe and academically highly stimulating environment in which research and teaching can flourish. The awards therefore allow the Faculty to celebrate some of the many outstanding individuals who have gone that extra mile to enrich the experience of students in their development as leading scientists of the future.

The FoNS Annual Prizes for Excellence 2015 were awarded in three categories:

Excellence in Teaching, including: lecturing, laboratory demonstrating, academic tutoring, personal tutoring and introducing new teaching programs, methods and projects.

Excellence in the Support of Teaching and Learning, in the context of Departmental and Faculty teaching and learning activities including:  laboratory class demonstrating, running workshops, academic tutoring, academic teaching administration and student support, and technical support of lectures and laboratories.

Excellence in Health and Safety. New for 2015, these awards are given in recognition of excellence in promoting and implementing safe practices in the Faculty. The prizes fall into four categories:  academic staff, support staff, Post-Docs and students.

Over 50 nominations were received this year and those listed below were selected by the Prize Review Panel as being those most deserving of recognition. Prizes were awarded by the Provost, Professor James Stirling, at an event on 10 June at 170 Queens Gate.

Prizes for Excellence in Teaching


  • Alan Armstrong
  • Laura Barter

Life Sciences

  • Anita Hall
  • Karen Polizzi


  • Din-Houn Lau
  • Richard Thomas


  • Jonathan Pritchard
  • Marina Galand

Centre for Environmental Policy

  • Audrey de Nazelle


Prizes for Excellence in the Support of Teaching and Learning


  • Andrew McKinley
  • Doris Pappoe
  • John de Mello
  • Simon Mann

Life Sciences

  • Gabriele Micali
  • James Andrewes
  • Lucy York
  • Nikola Ojkic
  • Patricia Paracuellos Torrecilla
  • Serophena Morgan
  • Susan Wryter


  • Arick Shao
  • Arman Khaledian
  • Maximilian Eggl
  • Robert Rouse
  • Urbain Vaes
  • Wei Ni


  • Benjamin Sherlock
  • Benoit Vanniere
  • Jessica Wade
  • João Arnauth Pela
  • Matteo Lostaglio
  • Megumi Ito
  • Nicholas Dover


Prizes for Excellence in Health and Safety

The Jan de Abela-Borg Support Staff Prize

  • Malcolm Hudson

Student Prize

  • Alexander Byrne
  • Rebecca Johnson

Post-Doc Prize

  • Adam Gilbertson

Academic Staff Prize

  • Andrew Ashley


Rebecca Middleton

Rebecca Middleton
Faculty of Natural Sciences

Click to expand or contract

Contact details

Tel: +44 (0)20 7594 2689
Email: rebecca.middleton@imperial.ac.uk

Show all stories by this author