Imperial College London

Business School professor awarded in Queen’s Birthday Honours


Jonathan Haskel

Professor Jonathan Haskel, Chair in Economics, was today made a Commander of the British Empire (CBE) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

A leading UK economist, Professor Haskel was commended for his public services to economics, including his research on productivity, innovation, intangible investment and growth. 

His contribution to public services includes facilitating the break-up of BAA, during his role on the Competition Decisions Committee and his research on the UK’s science base and its role in boosting economic growth.

"This award recognises Jonathan's significant public contribution to economics and we’re honoured to have him among our faculty.” Professor Francisco Veloso Dean, Imperial College Business School

Reacting to the news, Professor Haskel said: “I’m truly delighted to have been recognised with this award and would like to thank my colleagues, family and friends who have supported me throughout my career.

"The award reflects, I hope, my contributions to helping solve some of the most pressing issues facing today’s economy, including the contribution of science to boosting the UK economy. This work wouldn’t have been possible without the many colleagues I’ve had the privilege of working with over the years both before and during my time at Imperial.”

Professor Francisco Veloso, Dean of Imperial College Business School said: “I’m pleased to extend my congratulations to Jonathan for this incredible achievement. This award recognises his significant public contribution to economics and we’re honoured to have him among our faculty.”

Professor Haskel was recently appointed as an external member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee, which he starts on 1 September.

In 2017, he was awarded the Indigo Prize, a new economics prize that celebrates radical and creative thinking in how to measure the modern economy. He is a non-Executive Director of the UK Statistics Authority and has also held roles at the Financial Conduct Authority Competition Decisions Committee and the Payment System Regulator Enforcement and Competition Decisions Committee. His most recent book is Capitalism without Capital: The Rise of the Intangible Economy, co-authored with Stian Westlake.

Alumni success

Twelve alumni were recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Professor Sir Leslie Ebdon (Chemistry 1968, PhD 1971) received a Knighthood for services to higher education and social mobility whilst Professor John Loughhead (Mechanical Engineering 1970, MSc 1971) received a CB for services to research and development in the energy sector.

Professor Angela McLean (PhD Pure and Applied Biology 1986) has been made a DBE for services to mathematical biology and scientific advice for government and three alumni were awarded a CBE: Naomi Climer (Chemistry 1986) for services to the engineering profession, David Havelock (Physics 1968) for services to the economy, and Ian Prosser (Chemical Engineering & Chemical Technology 1980) for services to railway safety.

Three alumni were appointed OBEs: Professor Julian Bion (Charing Cross Hospital Medical School 1975) for services to intensive care, Professor Lionel Clarke (Physics 1974) for services to the synthetic biology sector and Dhruv Patel (Computing 2004) for voluntary service to the British Hindu community and social cohesion.

Finally, MBEs were awarded to three alumni: Roma Agrawal (MSc Civil and Environmental Engineering 2005) for services to engineering, Dr Nigel Watson (Westminster Hospital Medical School 1982) for services to general practice and Scott Heath (Chemistry 2011) for services to the LGBT community.


Laura Singleton

Laura Singleton
Communications and Public Affairs

Click to expand or contract

Contact details

Tel: +44 (0)20 7594 6127

Show all stories by this author


Alumni, Strategy-core-disciplines, Strategy-share-the-wonder, Strategy-staff-community
See more tags