Imperial engineers awarded battery research fellowships


Dr Billy Wu

Dr Billy Wu

Three academics in the Faculty of Engineering have been awarded fellowships from The Faraday Institution.

The Faraday Institution Industry Fellowships enable collaboration between industry and academia on critical issues affecting the UK battery industry. Each fellowship is to be used on an electrochemical energy research project.

The recipients from Imperial are Dr Billy Wu and Dr Haijun Ruan of the Dyson School of Design Engineering, and Dr Greg Offer of the Department of Mechanical Engineering in collaboration with Dr Alastair Hales of the University of Bristol.

Dr Wu will partner with Williams Advanced Engineering (WAE) to accelerate the deployment of advanced physics-based modelling to improve the diagnostic and prognostic capability of the WAE battery management system, targeting an extension in battery life.

Dr Wu said: ‘This exciting Faraday Industrial Fellowship will allow me and Dr Haijun Ruan to translate our work on battery diagnostics and control into real-world applications, with the goal of extending battery lifetime.’

Dr Gregory Offer
Dr Gregory Offer

Dr Alastair Hales and Dr Gregory Offer will partner with Thermal Hazard Technology (THT) to develop a common testing framework to optimise the experimental techniques used to parameterise battery models. The testing framework will improve the product development process and learnings will be incorporated into THT’s market-leading thermal control apparatus used for battery testing.

Dr Offer said: ‘I am delighted to be able to support Dr Alastair Hales, an alumnus of our group, in establishing himself as an independent academic. Initiating research activities in the first few years are crucial to lay the foundations for becoming a future research leader. Alastair definitely has this potential and I look forward to continuing to work with him and support him in his new Lectureship position at Bristol.’

Two other fellowships were also awarded by the Faraday Institution to academics from the University of Sheffield and Coventry University. Nine fellowships were previously awarded in 2020 and 2021.

Find out more about Faraday Institution Fellowships and apply for a future fellowship.


Helen Wilkes

Helen Wilkes
Faculty of Engineering

Click to expand or contract

Contact details


Show all stories by this author


Engineering-Mech-Eng, Industry, Engineering-Design-Eng
See more tags