Imperial College London

Award-winning evening for infectious disease epidemiologists


The Faculty of Medicine 25th Anniversary Staff Award

Imperial's infectious disease epidemiologists and modellers picked up a raft of nominations and awards at a Faculty of Medicine awards ceremony.

This week researchers from across the Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology (IDE) were recognised for their outstanding contributions to the Faculty of Medicine.

Hundreds of research and support staff from across the Faculty attended the Imperial Faculty of Medicine’s 25th Anniversary Staff Awards, held at South Kensington campus on Thursday (19th January).

The Awards were established to recognise individual staff, teams and activities that have significantly contributed to the Faculty’s research, education, community and culture over the last quarter century.

Members of the MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis collecting an award at the ceremony
Members of the MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis collecting an award at the Faculty of Medicine Awards ceremony

IDE had a strong turnout – with individuals and teams from across the MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis, Jameel Institute and hosted initiatives, featuring in multiple categories.

Among the many highlights of the evening, The MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis won the award for ‘Outstanding Achievement through Collaborative Research’

Professor Azra Ghani, from the MRC Centre, said: "We are delighted to receive this award. Collaboration is at the very heart of what we do at the MRC Centre. It is testament to the brilliant work and dedication of not only our team, but the strong relationships we have built with colleagues around the world, that we are able to do what we do."

Winners and nominees

Maria Piggin from the NIHR BRC Imperial Patient Experience Research Centre (PERC) was recognised with an award for ‘Community Engagement’.

Professor Alan Fenwick and the Schistosomiasis Control Initiative, based in the London Centre for Neglected Tropical Disease Research, won an award for ‘Global Impact’.

Dr Constance Nyamukapa, of Professor Simon Gregson’s team, was awarded ‘Outstanding Achievement through Collaborative Research Mentorship’

Maria Piggin

In addition to picking up the individual and group awards, members of the IDE were nominated in numerous other categories:

  • Dr Anne Cori was nominated for ‘Outstanding Mentorship’
  • Dr Nuno Faria was nominated for ‘Outstanding Achievement through Collaborative Research Mentorship’
  • Professor Katharina Hauck was nominated for ‘Excellence in Research Supervision’
  • Dr Natsuko Imai was nominated for ‘Outstanding Research Support and Global Impact (joint)'
  • Tabassum Iqbal was nominated for ‘Administrative Support’
  • The REACT Study team (featuring Professors Helen Ward, Christl Donnelly, Steven Riley, Christina Atchison and others) was nominated for ‘Outstanding Achievement through Collaborative Research’
  • Dr Sabine van Elsland and Stephen Johns (now in Communications Division) were nominated individually for ‘Communication’
  • Professor Helen Ward was nominated for ‘Outstanding Leadership in Education and Community Engagement’
  • Dr Lucy Okell, Dr Isobel Blake and many more colleagues from IDE and the School of Public Health more widely were also nominated for ‘Outstanding contribution to Faculty life’
  • Ms Louisa Moorhouse was nominated for 'Outstanding Technical Support'
  • Dr Maria Van Kerkove, an honorary lecturer within IDE, was jointly nominated for 'Global Impact'.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!


Ryan O'Hare

Ryan O'Hare
School of Public Health

Click to expand or contract

Contact details

Tel: +44 (0)20 7594 2410

Show all stories by this author


Infectious-diseases, School-of-Public-Health, Public-health
See more tags