Imperial College London

Bauerman Lecture returns with talk from pioneering professor


An image of Professor Samuel Stupp with Professor Molly Stevens and Professor Sandrine Heutz

Professor Samuel Stupp with Professor Molly Stevens and Professor Sandrine Heutz

The Department of Materials hosted Professor Samuel Stupp from Northwestern University for the Bauerman Lecture 2022.

Professor Sam Stupp is currently a Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry, and Medicine at Northwestern University in Chicago.

His research investigates development of self-assembling organic materials that have important applications in the fields of energy and medicine. He made a significant breakthrough with the discovery of a group of peptide amphiphiles, which have the ability to self-assemble into nanofibers with a high aspect ratio, and have numerous uses in regenerative medicine. He has also contributed significantly to the fields of nanotechnology, supramolecular chemistry, and organic electronic materials.

The Bauerman Lecture 2022 was held on Wednesday 15 March at Imperial College London and Professor Stupp presented a talk on 'Frontiers in Supramolecular Design of Materials'. The lecture was attended by both staff and students in the department, with an audience of 245 people attending in person.

After the lecture, Professor Stupp was awarded the Bauerman Lecture medal by Professor Molly Stevens FRS and Professor Sandrine Heutz.

Photos from the event can be viewed on Flickr.

The Bauerman Lecture

The Bauerman Lecture is a distinguished annual prize lecture held annually in the Department of Materials since 2016. It is named after Hilary Bauerman - one of the seven original students to enter the Government School of Mines in Jermyn Street in 1851.

The lecture is intended to be the annual highlight which brings together staff and students in the Department of Materials. 

Previous speakers have included: Professor Stephen Mann FRS, Professor Sir Richard Friend FRS, Professor Jennifer Lewis, Professor Dierk Raabe, Professor Nicola Spaldin FRS and Professor Dame Clare Grey FRS.

More information about the lecture can be found on the Department of Materials website.


Kayleigh Brewer

Kayleigh Brewer
Department of Materials


Materials, Engineering-Materials
See more tags