The Functional Membrane and Energy Materials Group is led by Dr Qilei Song. The group is interdisciplinary and motivated to basic research but with interests in practical applications of our research in oil & gas, chemical, and energy industries. The group consists of Postdoctoral and PhD researchers from a broad range of backgrounds and combines knowledge of materials chemistry, polymer membranes, porous materials, nanotechnology, electrochemistry, and chemical engineering science, to develop solutions to solve global challenges.  

Our research interests include the development of membrane technology and functional materials to solve global challenges in energy, water, climate change, environment, and healthcare. Current research projects include electrochemical energy conversion and storage, water purification, CO2 capture and conversion, H2 Production, gas and chemical separations. 

Dr Qilei Song - Group Leader


Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)

Principal investigators at the Barrer Centre

Office: +44 (0)20 7594 5623


Link to personal website

Post-Doctoral researchers



Dr Anqi Wang | PDRA 

Synthesis of polymer membranes


Dr Rui Tan | PDRA

Batteries for energy storage 


Dr Chunchun Ye | Visitor

PIM polymer membranes 


PhD students

ZYF Dezhi  Luke

Zhiyu Fan (2019 - present)

Membrane manufacturing


Dezhi Liu (2019 - present)

Membrane for molecular separations


Luke Petit (2019 - present)

Electrochemical Engineering





Toby Wong (2019 - present)

Ion exchange membranes 


Charlotte Breakwell (2020 - present)

Molecular dynamics simulations


Sunshine Iguodala (2021 - present)

Gas separation membranes




Yilin Yang (2021 - present)

Redox flow batteries




MEng, MSC, and MRes students

MRes students

  • Jiaxin Lu, 2021-2022 
  • Chonyang Qin, 2021-2022
  • Yanbing Chen, 2021-2022

MSc students, 2021-2022

  • Rui Zong, Preparation and testing of microporous membranes for water purification
  • Jiaqi Song, preparation and testing of electrodialysis membranes
  • Jiaxi Li, high energy density flow batteries
  • Jiawei Chen, synthesis and testing of microporous polymer membranes for CO2 separation
  • Mudi Cao, design and synthesis of polymer electrolyte membranes for solid state batteries

MEng Students working on final year research projects

  • Chunwan Zhang,  MEng student, 2021-2022
  • Kyungmin Nam, MEng student, 2021-2022
  • Marius Kornovan, MEng Student, 2021-2022
  • Koray Araz, MEng Student, 2021-2022


MEng, MSc and MRes students

  • Hongzhen He, MSc student (2020-2021), now PhD student at UCL
  • Raja Abbas, MSc student (2020-2021)
  • Arianna Ajaereh, MSc student (2020-2021)
  • Shibo Li, MSc student (2019-2020), now BASF, China
  • Xuan HeMSc student (2019-2020), now Shell Shanghai
  • Zhouming SunMSc student (2019-2020), now Evonik Shanghai
  • Hanfeng LiMSc student (2019-2020)
  • Luxi Yu, MEng student (2019-2020), now PhD student at Imperial
  • Xiaoqun Zhou, MEng student (2019-2020)
  • Teck Chin, MEng Student (2019-2020)
  • Richard Shen, MEng Student (2019-2020)
  • Jiaqi WengMSc student (2018-2019)
  • Yueyang PanMSc student (2018-2019)
  • Shuxian WangMSc student (2018-2019)
  • Wenjie MaoMSc student (2018-2019) 
  • Andrés Martín-Fuertes BrañasMSc student (2018-2019), now Junior Process Engineer
  • Zheng ChenMRes student (2018-2019), now PhD student at the University of Edinburgh
  • Haodong LiMRes student (2018-2019) 
  • Sandy Liman, MEng Student (2018-2019)
  • Siu Kwong Cheung, MEng student (2018-2019)
  • Humza Siddique, MEng student (2018-2019)
  • Mohammed Al-Hijji, MEng Student (2018-2019)
  • Haoming Liang, MEng Student (2018-2019)
  • Jiaming Xu, Meng Student (2018-2019)
  • Yanchi LiuMSc student (2017-2018)
  • Xinyu ZhangMSc student (2017-2018), now Sinopec China
  • Alicia Cheong, MEng student (2016-2017)
  • Dale Seddon, MEng student  (2016-2017)
  • Thomas Johnston, MEng student (2016-2017)
  • Armand Brochard, MEng student (2016-2017)
  • Kieran Naylor, MEng student (2016-2017)
  • Tianhe Zhang, MSc student  (2016-2017)
  • Barbara Primera Darwich, MSc student (2016-2017), now PhD student, EPFL
  • Anqi Wang, MSc student (2016-2017), now PDRA in the group
  • Qiao Zhang, MSc student (2015-2016), now JP Morgan
  • Nan Ding, MSc student (2015-2016), now BASF Shanghai
  • Xiaoqi Li, MSc student (2015-2016), now Evonik Shanghai
  • Horace Ka Ho Chien, MSc student (2014-2015)

Visiting Students

  • Min Hu, from USTC, 2018, now PhD student at University of Manchester
  • Dewang Zeng, from Southeast University, 2017, now researcher at Southeast University
  • Rongtan Gao, from Peking University, 2017
  • Zifeng Song, from Tsinghua University, 2017

UROP Students

  • Shengming Zhang, 2018, now PhD student at the University of Oxford
  • Xiaoqun Zhou, 2018, now PhD student at Harbin Institute of Technology
  • Tomas Juergensen, 2018, now engineer at Northvolt
  • Hassan Azzan, 2017,now PhD student at Imperial College London