Postdoc at work in the CMBI

In 2022 the MRC Centre for Molecular Bacteriology and Infection (CMBI) became the Centre for Bacterial Resistance Biology (CBRB). In 2012 the CMBI received funding from the Medical Research Council (MRC) and Imperial College London, and renewed funding from both organisations was granted in September 2017 for a further five years. We extend our thanks to the MRC for this support, as their funding has been crucial to the development of the Centre, providing opportunities for groundbreaking research and the highest level of postgraduate training.

Bacterial infections cause a huge burden of disease throughout the world and kill millions of people and animals each year. These pathogens cause diseases such as pneumonia, diarrhoea and meningitis, as well as genito-urinary and blood infections. Bacterial pathogens are also responsible for many of the infections acquired in hospitals and for some ‘old’ diseases, including tuberculosis, which is now on the increase in many parts of the world. Resistance to antibiotics is now widespread among bacteria and is increasing at an alarming rate.

The understanding of molecular mechanisms underlying bacterial pathogenesis and host resistance is crucial to the design of effective vaccines and antibacterial drugs. The Centre for Bacterial Resistance Biology (CBRB), which spans Imperial College’s Faculties of Natural Sciences and Medicine, uses multidisciplinary approaches and cutting-edge techniques to study bacterial infections at atomic, cellular and organism levels, with the aim of finding ways of developing new antibiotics, combating antibiotic resistance and developing effective vaccines.

The Centre collaborates extensively with Imperial College-associated hospitals, industry and centres of research excellence with complementary expertise. We support the development of high calibre group leaders in bacterial infection biology through the recruitment of young lecturers and postdoctoral research staff, as well as hosting several young investigators with personal fellowships.

We also specialize in training young academics and clinically qualified researchers to obtain Masters degrees and PhDs in bacterial pathogenesis to help address the current lack of UK-trained expertise in the field.

For information on the opportunities available at the Centre, please visit our postgraduate study and postdoctoral research pages.

Management within the CBRB

Scientific Advisory Board

Membership of the Scientific Advisory Board comprises national and international experts in the field of bacterial infection and immunity, together with representation from the College. The Board advises the management committee on the development and scientific strategy of the Centre.

  • Professor Jeff Errington, Newcastle University
  • Professor Christoph Dehio, Biozentrum, University of Basel
  • Professor Xiaodong Zhang, Imperial College London
  • Professor Clare Bryant, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Julian Parkhill, University of Cambridge

Management committee

This committee advises the Centre Director on strategy. Small subcommittees oversee the management of the Protein Production Analysis and In-vivo Imaging facilities; the academic managers of those facilities are responsible for the strategic overview, cost recovery planning and the professional development of associated staff.

  • Professor José Penadés Director CBRB (Chair)
  • Professor Shiranee Sriskandan, Clinical Director CBRB
  • Professor Ramesh Wigneshweraraj
  • Professor Angelika Gründling
  • Dr Andy Edwards
  • Dr Marc Dionne
  • Dr Tom Clarke
  • Dr Teresa Thurston
  • Dr Julie McDonald
  • Dr Gerald Larrouy-Maumus 

Training and Development Committee

This committee oversees, manages and evaluates all training activities in the Centre. In addition to the Centre Training Director, Centre Director and Centre Manager, the committee membership includes the Directors of the MRes Microbial Pathogenesis course, a senior academic representative and a senior clinical representative.

  • Dr Teresa Thurston (Chair) 
  • Professor José Penadés Director CBRB
  • Professor Shiranee Sriskandan, Clinical Director CBRB & Clinical Training Director
  • Dr Abigail Clements
  • Dr Tom Clarke
  • CBRB Postgraduate Representatives
  • CBRB Postdoctoral Representatives