Group Leader

Professor Matthew Fuchter

Brief Biography:
Matthew Fuchter is a Professor of Chemistry, co-Director of the Centre for Drug Discovery Science and co-Director of the MRes in Drug Discovery in the Department of Chemistry, Imperial College London. He is also a Founder, NED and the chemistry lead for NK:IO Ltd. Beyond this, he is the UK representative to the EuCheMS Division of Organic Chemistry, a Theme Champion for the Emerging Technologies Theme of the Centre for Processable Electronics, and an Editorial Board Member for the journals RSC Medicinal Chemistry (formally MedChemComm) and Chirality. He was formally a member of the Organic Division Council of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and an Associate Editor of RSC Medicinal Chemistry. He is involved in multiple multidisciplinary centres of excellence at Imperial including the Institute of Chemical Biology, the Imperial College Network of Excellence in Malaria, the Cancer Research Centre of Excellence, the Antimicrobial Research Collaborative, the Centre for Processable Electronics and the London Centre for Nanotechnology.

Dr Matt Fuchter

He completed PhD research under the supervision of Professor A. G. M. Barrett, FRS FMedSci and postdoctoral studies at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia, where he worked with Professor A. B. Holmes, FRS. Prior to his position at Imperial College he was the RCUK Academic Fellow at the School of Pharmacy (University of London). He returned to Imperial College in July 2008 as a Lecturer in Synthetic and Medicinal Chemistry and was promoted to Senior Lecturer in July 2012, Reader in September 2015 and Professor in September 2018.

In 2014 he was awarded the RSC Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize, as well as being admitted to the Royal Society of Chemistry as a Fellow. In 2015, he was selected as a Thieme Chemistry Journal Awardee by the Editorial Board for the Thieme Chemistry journals and was selected as the 'most meritorious runner-up' of the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia (2015).

In 2017, he won an Imperial College President’s Excellence in Research Award and a President’s Medal (together with Professors Tony Barrett, Charles Coombes and Simak Ali) for Excellence in Innovation and Entrepreneurship. In 2018 he was awarded the prestigious 2018 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award for Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry and a 5-year EPSRC Established Career Fellowship. In 2020, he was an honouree for the 2020 Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists in the United Kingdom, conferred by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and the New York Academy of Sciences.

For more details see his personal web page.

The group

Fuchter group 2020
Fuchter group 2020

PhD students

Postdoctoral co-workers

  • Seán Ryan - Chiral organic electronic materials
  • Wenda Shi - Chiral organic electronic materials
  • Xingyuan Shi – Chiral organic electronic materials
  • Jake Greenfield – Absolute asymmetric synthesis using chiral influences

Imperial College Research Fellow

  • Jamie Lewis

MRes students

  • Nobert Chmurzynski – Novel PROTAC designs
  • Patrick Cunningham – Novel kinase inhibitors
  • Dora Laczi – Photopharmacology
  • Byron Ritson – Photopharmacology

Undergraduate students

  • Martin Flerin Maver (MSci) – Photopharmacology

Other co-workers affiliated with the group

  • Nadia Hoyas Perez (PhD), Lewis lab – Supramolecular chemistry
  • Theodora Constantin (PhD), Bevan lab – Prostate cancer 
  • Zoe Heckhausen (PhD), Hajkova lab – DNA methylation in development


Previous group members

Katie Addison (PhD)
Nathan Allcock (PhD)
Matthias Baud (PhD)
Jochen Brandt (PDRA)
Joachim Caron (PDRA)
Thomas Chavas (PhD)
Fanny Cherblanc (PhD)
Hannah Cook (PhD)
Rosenildo da Costa (PDRA)
Rob Davidson (PhD, PDRA)
Paolo Di Fruscia (PhD)
Ornella Di Pietro (PDRA)
Luíza dos Reis Cruz (PhD)
Melis Ekinci (PhD)
Nina Forkel (PhD)
Robert Heinze (PDRA)
Dilraj Judge (PhD)
Fu-Howe Lee (PhD)
Jean-Noël Levy (PhD/PDRA)
Alexandra Lubin (PhD)
Dan Mercea (PhD)
Kate Montgomery (PhD)
Thomas Moss (PDRA)
Rob Richardson (PDRA)
James Rushworth (PhD)
Daniel Scott (PhD)
Nitipol Srimongkolpithak (PhD)
Sandeep Sundriyal (PDRA)
Kanut Tangsangasaksri (PhD)
Nicole Trainor (PhD)
Angela Udemba (PhD)
Jessica Wade (PDRA)
Li Wan (PhD)
Marko Weimar (PDRA)
Claire Weston - (PhD/PDRA)
Harry Whitwell (PDRA)
Ying Yang (PDRA)
Ainoa Rueda Zubiaurre (PDRA)

Group Photos

 Group Photos
 Group Hike 2011
 Group hike 2011
 Black Tuesday 2013
 Black Tuesday 2013
 Bounce 2014
Churchill Arms 2017
Churchill Arms 2017
Group photos