Contact our committee lead

Professor Jessica Strid

+44 (0)20 3313 1475


The Department of Immunology and Inflammation was awarded an Athena Swan Silver Award in May 2021. 

The mission statement of our new Department is to create a diverse, inclusive and supportive academic community committed to promoting scientific excellence and nurturing the next generation of researchers. The principles we adhere to are:

  1. Transparency and consistency
  2. Equality and diversity
  3. Professional behaviour
  4. Scientific integrity

Athena SWAN silver award logoThe Department of Immunology and Inflammation's Equality and Diversity (EDI) committee has a wide remit and aims to support all staff by engaging across College and beyond on issues including Race Equality, Disability, LGBT matters, working culture and career development opportunities. The Athena SWAN self-assessment team is embedded in the EDI committee and we are committed to upholding the Athena SWAN Charter.

The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise a commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research.

In May 2015, the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The Charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Committee meeting minutes

Useful resources


Mentoring at Imperial

Mentoring is a widely used development tool that has proved to have a beneficial impact on effectiveness, confidence and career advancement.

Find out more