Imperial College London

Undergraduate Student Awards 2021-22


writing: Undergraduate Student prize winners 2021-22

Three students have been awarded prizes for outstanding work on Horizons modules this academic year.

We are delighted to announce that the following students have been awarded prizes for their undergraduate work over the past academic year. These awards acknowledge excellence in the study of Languages and Humanities & Social Sciences and we congratulate the prize-winners for their outstanding contribution to our programme.

The Prizes

The Sir Arthur Acland Prize for Excellence in Humanities:

Jonah Hewett (3rd Year Biomedical Engineering) for his History of Science, Technology and Industry essay, Photography, technology and propaganda in the Second World War.

The Sir Arthur Acland Prize for Excellence in Languages:

Sajanthanaa Nageswaran (4th Year Chemistry with Spanish for Science), for her work throughout her Language for Science degree and her 2021-22 research project.

The President’s Prize for Communication Skills:

Nell Pates (3rd Year Microbiology), for Horizons module Science Communication.

About the Prizes

The President's Prize (formerly the Rector’s Prize) for Communication Skills is awarded to the highest scoring student on the Imperial Horizons module Science Communication.

The two Sir Arthur Acland Prizes for Excellence are awarded to undergraduate students of any department for excellence in Languages and Humanities subject areas. 

Anne Barrett (College Archivist) and Dr Michael Weatherburn (Humanities and Social Sciences Field Leader) have recently discovered the orgins of the Acland Prize and that it dates from 1925/26 rather than 1947/48 as previously supposed. The history is now updated on the CLCC History webpages.

Learn more about the history of the Acland prizes.


Cleo Bowen

Cleo Bowen
Centre for Languages, Culture and Communication