ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2020/2021

ISSF Springboard Fellowships provide funding help with the career progression and retention of early career researchers. Funding in partnership with Departments, these awards are intended as short-term fellowships to enable these researchers to acquire preliminary data and develop the independence required to be competitive for future external fellowship applications.  

These fellowships are open to researchers across ALL Faculties in College, to undertake research within the science remit of the Wellcome Trust. Researchers from disciplines outside of biomedicine can apply for funding, provided the project is within this remit. Please read the science remit of the Wellcome Trust.

Multidisciplinary applications are strongly encouraged. We also encourage applications from female scientists and scientists from a diverse set of backgrounds who are currently underrepresented in this scheme.

Since the events of Summer 2020 and the Black Lives Matter movement, we are looking to be even more proactive in ensuring all our opportunities are open to all groups as part of the bigger effort to make Imperial a truly inclusive place to work. We are aware this ISSF has not supported many fellows from a Black background, so are proactively trying to increase awareness of this scheme and to attract applications from a broader pool of people. Therefore, we want potential PIs to keep this in mind, so if you work with researchers; collaborators from a different discipline; or external to Imperial, this is an ideal an opportunity to encourage them to stay at, or join, Imperial.

"The fellowship covers salary costs PLUS up to £15,000 for consumables. e.g. £35,000 salary + £9,000 consumables = £17,500 + £4,500 to be paid from the department and £17,500 + £4,500 to be paid from ISSF. There are usually 2-3 awards per call."

The next call for applications is October 2021 with details to follow

The Application Deadline has now passed

Departments are expected to make a 50% contribution to the award. All applications must be discussed with the relevant Departmental Manager prior to submission.

The deadline for departmental signoff has now passed.

ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2020/2021

How to Apply

Applications must comprise of the following:

  1. A completed application form, please email issf@imperial.ac.uk to request a copy of the guidelines and application form.
  2. Letter of support from the host/supervisor
  3. A copy of your InfoEd recovery page
    1. The InfoEd proposal should not be submitted for approval but must have been agreed in outline by the appropriate department(s)
              i.    An e-mail signifying approval will suffice and must be attached to the InfoEd proposal
    2. ‘Recovery’ on InfoEd must have the 50% charge and ‘Institution Contribution’ the other 50%.  All costs can be inflated.
    3. Departments should cc ISSF@imperial.ac.uk when contacting CBS re the CBS costing tool. The CBS approval email must also be sent directly to this ISSF email account ISSF@imperial.ac.uk.       

Please note: you are required to contact your department to seek departmental approval before 31 March 2021.

All fellowships must commence by end November 2021

How to Submit

  • Convert items 1-3 to PDF and combine into a single document in that order.
    > Name the file appropriately: Your_Name_ISSFSpringboard_April_2021

Application Deadlines

Application Deadlines
Departmental DeadlineApplication Deadline Decision Expected 
31 March 2021 22 April 2021 after 20 May 2021
 TBA  TBA  TBA
You are required to contact your department to seek departmental approval before 31 March 2021
Interested applicants should discuss their application with their departmental contact before Friday 28th September 2018

Departmental Contacts

Faculty of Engineering

Head of Research Strategy Development: Jane Williams jane.williams@imperial.ac.uk

Finance: Amrik Thethi  a.thethi@imperial.ac.uk

Faculty of Medicine

Department of Infectious Disease: Paula Kirby p.kirby@imperial.ac.uk  
*Infectious Disease are not participating in the April 2021 call

Department of Brain Sciences: Paula Kirby p.kirby@imperial.ac.uk  

Department of Immunology & Inflammation: Dania Grant-Serroukh d.grant-serroukh@imperial.ac.uk 
*Immunology & Inflammation are not participating in the April 2021 call

Department of Metabolism, Digestion and Reproduction: Dania Grant-Serroukh d.grant-serroukh@imperial.ac.uk 

National Heart and Lung Institute: Alun Owen a.owen@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Surgery and Cancer: Rita Carvalho, r.carvalho@imperial.ac.uk  

Institute of Clinical Sciences:  Peter Norsworthy p.norsworthy@imperial.ac.uk

School of Public Health: Matt Heger m.heger@imperial.ac.uk (Elizabeth Hayes e.hayes@imperial.ac.uk, Renata Samulnik r.samulnik@imperial.ac.uk, Barbara Cerutti b.cerutti@imperial.ac.uk

Faculty of Natural Sciences

Maths: Svanidze, Rusudan r.svanidze@imperial.ac.uk

PhysicsHayward, Louise l.hayward@imperial.ac.uk
*Physics are not participating in the April 2021 call

Centre for Environmental Policy: Gourlay, Anca a.gourlay@imperial.ac.uk

Grantham: Emma Bowman e.bowman@imperial.ac.uk 

Chemistry: Angie Cass a.cass@imperial.ac.uk & Erika Rosivatz e.rosivatz@imperial.ac.uk

Life Sciences: Fellowships Committee dols-fhc@imperial.ac.uk

Imperial College Business School

Head of Research Support: Dr David Wilson david.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

Research Support Manager: Ross Clark ross.clark@imperial.ac.uk

ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2020/2021 Documents

For further information and eligibility, please email issf@imperial.ac.uk to request a copy of the guidelines and application form.

Please complete the ISSF Springboard Fellowship Application Form and ‌submit to issf@imperial.ac.uk‌ before 12noon 22 April 2021.

Find out more about previous fellowship/award holders on the College's Wellcome Trust Institutional Strategic Support Fund case studies webpage.