ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2019/2020

Replacing the ISSF Faculty Fellowships, the ISSF Springboard Fellowships provide funding help with the career progression and retention of early career researchers. Funding in partnership with Departments, these awards are intended as short-term fellowships to enable these researchers to acquire preliminary data and develop the independence required to be competitive for future external fellowship applications.  

These fellowships are open to researchers across ALL Faculties in College, to undertake research within the science remit of the Wellcome Trust. Researchers from disciplines outside of biomedicine can apply for funding, provided the project is within this remit. 

Multidisciplinary applications are strongly encouraged. We also encourage applications from female scientists and scientists from diverse backgrounds who are currently underrepresented in this scheme.

"The fellowship covers salary costs PLUS up to £15,000 for consumables. e.g. £35,000 salary + £9,000 consumables = £17,500 + £4,500 to be paid from the department and £17,500 + £4,500 to be paid from ISSF. There are usually 2-3 awards per call."

For further information and eligibility, please read the ISSF Springboard Fellowships Guidelines 2019-20 (October 2019) (Imperial login required).  The next call for applications is now open. 

The Application Deadline is: Tuesday 15 October 2019 (12.00 noon)

Departments are expected to make a 50% contribution to the award. All applications must be discussed with the relevant Departmental Manager prior to submission.
The deadline for departmental signoff is 1 October 2019

ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2019/2020

How to Apply

Applications must comprise of the following:

  1. A completed ISSF Springboard Fellowships Application Form (October 2019 call).
  2. Letter of support from the host/supervisor
  3. A copy of your InfoEd recovery page
    1. The InfoEd proposal should not be submitted for approval but must have been agreed in outline by the appropriate department(s)
              i.    An e-mail signifying approval will suffice and must be attached to the InfoEd proposal
    2. ‘Recovery’ on InfoEd must have the 50% charge and ‘Institution Contribution’ the other 50%.  All costs can be inflated.
    3. Departments should cc ISSF@imperial.ac.uk when contacting CBS re the CBS costing tool. The CBS approval email must also be sent directly to this ISSF email account.       

  Please note: you are required to contact your department to seek departmental approval before 1 October 2019.   

How to Submit

  • Convert items 1-3 to PDF and combine into a single document in that order.
    > Name the file appropriately: Your_Name_ISSFSpringboardFellowship_Application_October_2019

Application Deadlines

Application Deadlines
Departmental DeadlineApplication Deadline Decision Expected 
 1 October 2019   15 October 2019 (12 noon)  22 November 2019 
 31 March 2020  21 April 2020 (12 noon)  22 May 2020
You are required to contact your department to seek departmental approval before 1 October 2019 
Interested applicants should discuss their application with their departmental contact before Friday 28th September 2018

Departmental Contacts

Faculty of Engineering

Head of Research Strategy Development: Jane Williams jane.williams@imperial.ac.uk

Finance: Amrik Thethi  a.thethi@imperial.ac.uk

Faculty of Medicine

Department of Infectious Disease: Ruth Tipples r.tipples@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Immunology & Inflammation: Cathy Tupman c.tupman@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Brain Sciences: Shirley Line s.line@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Metabolism, Digestion and Reproduction: Joanna Thompson joanna.thompson@imperial.ac.uk

National Heart and Lung Institute: Alun Owen a.owen@imperial.ac.uk

Department of Surgery and Cancer: Elsa Paul e.paul@imperial.ac.uk

Institute of Clinical Sciences:  Peter Norsworthy p.norsworthy@imperial.ac.uk

School of Public Health: Matt Heger m.heger@imperial.ac.uk & Lyndsey Pallant l.pallant@imperial.ac.uk

Faculty of Natural Sciences

Maths: Svanidze, Rusudan r.svanidze@imperial.ac.uk

PhysicsHayward, Louise l.hayward@imperial.ac.uk
*Physics are not participating in the October 2019 call

Centre for Environmental Policy: Lyle, Karen R k.lyle@imperial.ac.uk

Grantham: Emma Bowman e.bowman@imperial.ac.uk 

Chemistry: Angie Cass a.cass@imperial.ac.uk & Erika Rosivatz e.rosivatz@imperial.ac.uk

Life Sciences: Fellowships Committee dols-fhc@imperial.ac.uk*
*Life Sciences are not participating in the October 2019 call

Imperial College Business School

Head of Research Support: Dr David Wilson david.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

Research Support Manager: Ross Clark ross.clark@imperial.ac.uk

ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2019/2020 Documents

For further information and eligibility, please read the ISSF Springboard Fellowships Guidelines 2019-20 (October 2019). (Imperial login required)  

Please complete the  ISSF Springboard Fellowships Application Form (October 2019 call) and submit to issf@imperial.ac.uk‌ before 12.00noon on Tuesday 15 October 2019. (Imperial login required)