Brian Hoskins

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins

Chair

b.hoskins@imperial.ac.uk

 

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins is Chair of the Grantham Institute and is a member of the Committee on Climate Change. Brian was the Institute’s first Director from 2008-2014.

 Joanna Haigh

Professor Joanna Haigh

Co-Director

j.haigh@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Joanna Haigh is the Co-Director of the Grantham Institute, Professor of Atmospheric Physics and the Director of the Science and Solutions for a Changing Planet (SSCP) Doctoral Training Partnership

 Martin Siegert

Professor Martin Siegert

Co-Director

m.siegert@imperial.ac.uk
@mjsiegert

Professor Martin Siegert is the Co-Director of the Grantham Institute and Professor of Geosciences. Martin also represents the College as a member of the Climate Knowledge and Innovation Community (Climate-KIC) Governing Board.

 

People

Research

     
 Jeff Hardy

Jeff Hardy

Grantham Research Fellow

jeff.hardy@imperial.ac.uk 

Jeff's research focuses on society-led low carbon energy  transformations and associated strategic narrativesHe is on a 12-month sabbatical from Ofgem, where he was Head of Sustainable Energy Futures. 

 Yufeng Yang headshot

Yufeng Yang

Grantham Research Fellow

yufeng.yang@imperial.ac.uk 

Yufeng's is from the Energy Research Institute (ERI) of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) of China. His research focuses global energy governance and energy storage

Erik van Sebille

Dr Erik van Sebille

Honorary Grantham Lecturer in Oceanography and Climate Change

e.van-sebille@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8453
@ErikvanSebille

Erik is an oceanographer and climate scientist, investigating the time scales and pathways of the global ocean circulation. His research focuses on how currents and eddies in the ocean transport heat and nutrients, as well as marine organisms and plastics between different regions of the ocean.

Mitigation team

 

Professor Jenny Nelson

Mitigation programme leader

jenny.nelson@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 7581

 

Jenny leads the Institute’s climate change mitigation research, which covers some of the key technologies for emissions mitigation such as low carbon energy technologies, as well as industrial emissions, energy systems modelling and mitigation policy. She is also a Professor of Physics, with her own research focussing on solar photovoltaics and related materials science.

Ajay Gambhir

Ajay Gambhir

Senior Research Fellow (Mitigation Policy)

a.gambhir@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 6363

Ajay's work focuses on the economics and policy of low-carbon technologies.

 Neil hirst

Neil Hirst

Senior Policy Fellow

n.hirst@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 6306

Neil works with the Chinese government and other international energy policymakers on the reform of global energy governance and China’s participation.

Tamaryn Napp

Dr Tamaryn Napp

Research Associate in Mitigation

tamaryn.napp@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 5796

 

Tamaryn's research focuses on developing the TIAM-Grantham global energy systems model, and investigating technologies and policies for mitigating CO2 emissions from energy-intensive industrial processes

 Sheridan Few

Dr Sheridan Few

Research Associate in Mitigation Technologies

sheridan.few@imperial.ac.uk

Sheridan's work focuses on understanding the role of energy technologies in meeting mitigation targets. Sheridan is currently working on understanding how energy storage technologies could develop, and their potential for climate change mitigation.

 

Operations

  Simon bailey

Dr Simon Bailey

Head of Operations

s.bailey@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 8937 

Simon oversees the Institute’s operations, supporting the development and delivery of the Institute’s strategy, coordinating between programme, development, outreach and communication activities, and managing the Institute’s resources.

 Laila Read

Dr Laila Read

Project Manager

l.read@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 8628

Laila provides management, planning, financial, administrative and organisational support in the development and delivery of new partnerships and collaborations, working across a range of disciplines and with a variety of funders.  

 

Gosia Gayer

Institute Administrator 
Personal Assistant to Grantham Co-Directors

g.gayer@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594  9666

Gosia provides executive level project management and administrative support to the Co-Directors. She also has responsibility for ensuring that the Institute’s day-to-day operations run smoothly, including its regular seminar and lectures, official visits as well as its facilities and central resources.

 

Christiane Morgan

Personal and Administrative Assistant: Business and Policy

c.morgan@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 1180

Christiane provides support to the Institute’s business and policy engagement activities, as well as personal assistance to the business, policy and innovation team. This includes engagement events with our stakeholders in these areas.

 

Paola Riboldi-Gomm

Finance Administrator

p.riboldi-gomm@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 8627

Paola handles all of the Institute’s day-to-day financial activities, advising and assisting staff and students with financial transactions.

Education

 Sophie smith

Sophie Smith

Project Manager - Education

sophie.smith@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 5885
@Ms_SophieSmith

Sophie is responsible for delivering the Institute's education programmes. She manages all educational activities including the NERC funded Science and Solutions for a Changing Planet (SSCP) Doctoral Training Partnership and the MSc in Climate Change Management and Finance.  

 Portrait Linnea

Linnea Luupala

Administrator - Education

l.luupala@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 8451

Linnea supports the Project Manager – Education at the Grantham Institute with the Science and Solutions for a Changing Planet (SSCP) Doctoral Training Partnership programme. 

Policy & communications

  
 Alyssa Gilbert

Alyssa Gilbert

Director of Policy and Translation

a.gilbert@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 9665
@AlyssaRGilbert

Alyssa is responsible for making the link between our academic work and policy-makers, businesses, NGOs and other stakeholders. Her work involves engaging with a wide range of organisations and producing briefing papers, events and bespoke engagements that ensure that our work has impact. 

Simon Levey

Simon Levey

Communications Manager

s.levey@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 5650
@littlesimon

Simon’s role is to write news and organise events about climate and environmental research at Imperial, and coordinate public engagement activities and training. He also edits publications about climate science and policy for the Grantham Briefing Papers series. Simon is responsible for all communications about Grantham Institute staff, students and affiliates.

 

 

Stakeholder Engagement Manager

This role focuses on building external and internal partner networks around two of our themes: decarbonisation pathways and the application of satellite technology.

Headshot of Lottie

Lottie Butler

Digital Communications Officer 

c.butler@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)207 594 8452

Lottie manages the Grantham Institute’s online presence, including its website, blog, email newsletters and social media channels. 

 

Innovation

 
 Richard Templer

Professor Richard Templer

Director of Innovation

r.templer@imperial.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7594 5874
@RichardTempler1

Richard leads the Institute’s innovation activities, with a focus on founding a world-leading co-location centre for climate change research, education and innovation on Imperial’s White City Campus. The Imperial College Centre for Cleantech Innovation will be one key component of this new innovation hub.