Event image

Registration for this event is now full; if you wish to be put on the waiting list please email Rusudan Svanidze: r.svanidze@imperial.ac.uk.

The symposium ‘New Frontiers in Mathematics’ marks the inauguration of the international joint Mathematics Laboratory ‘Abraham de Moivre’ between Imperial College London and CNRS. Laboratory Abraham de Moivre will be a ‘Unite Mixte Internationale (UMI)’, the highest level of commitment of CNRS into an international partnership.

By the creation of this joint laboratory CNRS and Imperial College London will establish a long-term partnership which aims to serve as a hub for collaborations between the French and UK mathematics communities. This collaboration was started a few years ago by the establishment of the joint ICL-CNRS Fellowships in Mathematics, jointly funded by the Department of Mathematics at Imperial College and the Mathematics Institute INSMI of CNRS and supporting extended stays of French Academics at Imperial College. This program will be strengthened in many ways by the creation of the UMI Abraham de Moivre. In particular, it will open new opportunities to Academics from Imperial College to make extended stays in French labs and will facilitate the organization of joint networks, workshops and conferences.  The scientific span of the UMI Abraham de Moivre concerns all domains of mathematics and of their interactions with other fields, such as physics, computer science, biology, economics, social sciences, etc.

The UMI Abraham de Moivre is located within the Department of Mathematics at Imperial College London, which is one of the most prominent Mathematics Department in the UK. Imperial College is among the top Five Universities in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) in the UK and ranks within the top universities in all worldwide rankings. The name of the UMI is a tribute to French Mathematician Abraham de Moivre who was instrumental in the development of geometry and probability theory. De Moivre established himself in London following the revoking of the Edict of Nantes and became a member of the Royal Society and part of the English scientific establishment which at that time included Isaac Newton and Edmund Halley among others.


Morning session. Chair: Dr. Ana Caraiani, Imperial College


Prof. Pascal Auscher, Scientific Director of INSMI-CNRS

Prof. James Stirling, Provost of Imperial College London

Welcome and perspectives of the International Joint Unit ‘Abraham de Moivre


Prof. Martin Hairer, FRS, Fields Medallist, Imperial College

Bridging scales


Coffee break


Prof. Etienne Ghys, French Academy of Sciences, CNRS and  Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon

Singular points of analytic curves



Afternoon session. Chair, Prof. Xue-Mei Li, Imperial College


Prof. Emmanuel Breuillard, University of Cambridge

Homogeneous flows and diophantine geometry


Coffee break


Prof. Cédric Villani, Fields medallist, Member of the French Parliament