2017 BGA Fleming Award

Fleming Award Winning Team

The Fleming Award winning team

The Fleming Award winning team, representing the many companies and individuals involved in the PISA project, from left to right: Michael Stephenson (Carbon Trust), Steve Turner (SOCOTEC, UK), Alastair Muir Wood (formerly Ørsted), Professor Byron Byrne (Oxford University), Jesper Skov Gretlund (Ørsted) and Professor Lidija Zdravkovic (Imperial College London), with Jon Morris (Managing Director for Cementation Skanska)

PISA team

PISA team

Members of the PISA team present at the competition, with the cheque of the Fleming Award

The PISA project was the winner of the BGA Fleming Award competition held on 6th December 2017 at the ICE. The PISA project developed new design methods for offshore wind turbine monopile foundations, by applying highly innovative geotechnical engineering for design and construction, to reduce costs for offshore wind energy.  Imperial College London is part of the PISA Academic Work Group comprising Oxford University and University College Dublin.   The project was funded by the UK Department for Energy and Climate Change (DECC) and the PISA Industry Partners led by Ørsted (formerly DONG Energy), under the umbrella of the Offshore Wind Accelerator (OWA) programme designed and led by the Carbon Trust.

The BGA Fleming Award Competition is held annually to commemorate the life and work of Dr Ken Fleming, a former chief engineer of Cementation Skanska, and to recognise excellence in the practical application of geotechnics in a project, with emphasis on innovation and team work across the different disciplines involved in the project.