The Strategic Advisory Board meet annually and provide independent advice on the scientific direction and research priorities of the Centre, as well as on our wide engagement activities.


  • Professor Gabriel Leung
    Executive Director (Charities & Communities), Hong Kong Jockey Club; Honorary Professor, University of Hong Kong.


  • Dr Claire De May 
    UKRI, Medical Research Council.


  • Professor Soumya Swaminathan
    Chair, MS Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai, India and former Chief Scientist, World Health Organization.
  • Professor Juliet Pulliam 
    Director, DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence in Epidemiological Modelling and Analysis SACEMA, South Africa.
  • Professor John Amuasi
    Professor of Global One Health, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana & Bernhard Nocht Institute of Tropical Medicine & University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE), Hamburg, Germany.
  • Professor Christine Carrington
    Professor of Molecular Genetics and Virology, Head of Department of Preclinical Sciences, Faculty of Medical Sciences, The University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Professor Simon Cauchemez
    Head of the Mathematical Modelling of Infectious Diseases Unit, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France.