Celebrations for President’s Award winners in the Department of Materials


An image of Queen's Tower

Two staff members in the Department of Materials have been awarded President’s Awards for Excellence 2021.

Congratulations to Dr Robert Hoye and Dr Manjula Silva who were recognised for Excellence at the virtual ceremony on Tuesday 15 June. In attendance were Imperial’s President, Professor Alice Gast, along with the College’s Provost, Ian Walmsley, who thanked staff for their determination and resilience during the pandemic.

Dr Robert Hoye: "It’s a great honour"

An image of Dr Robert HoyeDr Robert Hoye, Lecturer in the Department of Materials, was awarded the President's Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher. He was nominated for his phenomenal innovative research outputs, developing world-leading new protocols for the control of ZnO.

Dr Hoye's nomination comes one year after joining the College and reflects his research into photovoltaics. Over the last year, Dr Hoye has also received the IOM3 Rosenhain Medal and Prize and the Rising Star award from the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN).

Most recently, Dr Hoye was awarded a Imperial-MIT seed-fund to research using bismuth- and antimony-based materials for low-cost chemical gas sensors to monitor pollution levels in cities. Dr Hoye has shared more about his latest research in a recent blog post for the Department of Materials.

Dr Hoye said: “It’s a great honour to have our work on thin-film optoelectronic materials for clean energy recognised with this award. I am grateful to the Department and College for their support as I build up my group."

Dr Manjula Silva: "This appreciation brings encouragement and recognises our teamwork"

An image of Dr Manjula SilvaImperial As One, the College’s staff network for Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) staff, were awarded the President’s Medal for Excellence in Culture and Community.

Imperial As One were nominated as a team for their hard work and creativity in tackling racial inequalities, bias, and barriers across the College and for their commitment to developing an environment that promotes equality of opportunity and values diversity.

Dr Manjula Silva, Teaching Fellow in the Department of Materials, joined Imperial As One last year. She has championed the use of poetry as a way to encourage conversation on key issues both in the Department and at College.

She commented: "This appreciation brings encouragement and recognises the teamwork of members of IAO. We work to make an inclusive culture and a place for all staff/student communities and I am happy that the College has recognised this. I'm looking forward to future opportunities to work towards creating an authentic inclusive culture for the departmental community as well."

Dr Silva is now supporting the organisation of a new Imperial As One conference for staff and students, scheduled to be held later in this year.

Read more about the President's Award Winners.


Kayleigh Brewer

Kayleigh Brewer
Department of Materials


See more tags

Leave a comment

Your comment may be published, displaying your name as you provide it, unless you request otherwise. Your contact details will never be published.