Visiting students can apply to the Department of Physics for either: 

  • a major project in a research group, lasting from a few months up to a year. To apply please look at our research pages, and contact  the relevant research group(s) directly. 
  • a year of study under an Erasmus or other exchange agreement. For this programme you will need to be nominated by your home university. 

If you have been nominated to study at our department via an exchange programme, you can find further information on how to complete your application on the following webpage. Please note that we can only accept students from universities that we have partnership agreement with. A full list can be found below. 

Visiting students 2014

Tabbed information block

Exchange Partners


  • Université de Paris Sud (Paris XI), Orsay
  • Institut National de Physique de Grenoble (INPG)/ Ecole d'Ingénieurs de Physique, Electronique, et Matériaux (Phelma)


  • Utrecht University


  • Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)


  • Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg


  • Università degli Studi di Padova “Il Bo”


  • Universidad de La Laguna (Tenerife)
  • Universidad de Valencia
  • Universidad Autónoma de Madrid


  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Planning your Studies

Students must complete a Learning Agreement as part of their applicaiton. This will include listing the courses you would like to take whilst at Imperial College. You will be asked to confirm you choices within the first 2 weeks of term. 

List of current undergraduate and master degree courses.


For some Level 4 courses, you are required to have studied one or more Level 3 courses as a preparation. You may have covered the relevant material at your home university, or you may be able to take the Level 3 course here in Term 1, and the Level 4 course in Term 2. Where the timetable does not allow this, you may be able to cover the prerequisite material in private study. Contact the course lecturer to establish whether this can be done.

Please note when making your choices:

  • Most teaching takes place in Terms 1&2. Exams for almost all courses take place in Term 3 (May and June). 
  • At least half your programme must be done within the Physics Department
  • If you decide to take MSc courses or courses in other departments, please be aware that there may be timetable clashes!


  • Physics Department Year in Europe Administrative Coordinator: 
    Amy Cripps-Mahajan , tel +44(0)20 7594 7511
    Blackett Laboratory, Room 317, Imperial College, London SW7 2AZ, GB
  • Physics Department Year In Europe Academic Co-ordinator:
    Professor Gavin Davies,  +44(0)20 7594 7674
  • Assistant Registrar (Placements) & Institutional Erasmus Co-ordinator:
    Adrian Hawksworth, tel +44(0)20 7594 8044
    Registry, Level 3 Sherfield Building, Imperial College, London SW7 2AZ, GB