Imperial College London is an independent corporation whose legal status derives from a Royal Charter, originally granted under Letters Patent in 1907. Its objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in its Charter and Statutes, which were granted by Her Majesty The Queen in 1998. On 4th April 2007 a Supplemental Charter and Statutes were granted by Her Majesty. This Supplemental Charter, which came into force on the date of the College's Centenary, 8th July 2007, established the College as a University with the name and style of 'The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine'.

The College is an exempt charity under the laws of England and Wales by virtue of the Exempt Charities Order 1962 and the Third Schedule to the Charities Act 2011. Its activities include the promotion of scholarship, education and research in science, engineering and medicine especially in their application to industry. In accordance with the Charities Act 2011, and the Higher Education and Research Act 2017, the Office for Students (OfS) is the responsible body for regulating universities as charities on behalf of the Charity Commission.

The full text of the University's  may be viewed on the University web-site or obtained from the Clerk to the Council and Court.

Information blocks

Legal Name

The College's legal name is 'the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine'.

The words 'Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine', 'Imperial College London' and 'Imperial College' are registered trade-marks.

The College's preferred brand identity is 'Imperial College London'.

Correspondence Address

The College's correspondence address is:
The Faculty Building
Imperial College London
Exhibition Road
South Kensington
London SW7 2AZ
United Kingdom


The members of the Council are also the trustees of Imperial College London.

As of 31 January 2023 the trustees are:

TrusteeOther Charitable Trusts of which the Trustee is a trustee
Mr John Allan CBE  
External Members  
Sir Leszek Borysiewicz

The Courtauld Institute of Art

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

 Cambridge University RFC

Cancer Research UK

Yidan Prize Foundation for Education

The Institute for Research in Schools

Mr Toby Courtauld  
Mr John Cullen The Ambergate Charitable Trust
Mr Ron Kalifa OBE The Royal Foundation 
Mr Deepak Khanna  
Mr Ric Lewis

Black Heart Foundation

Black Equity Organisation

Dr Mary Meany Haynes  
 Sir Jonathan Michael

British Kidney Patient Association 

The Royal Albert Hall

Ms Sara Murray OBE White Ensign Association
Dr Mahnaz Safa  
Professor Jeremy Sanders CBE FRS 

Storey's Field Community Trust

Royal Society of Chemistry

Mr Subhanu Saxena  
Mr Christopher Williams  
Ex-Officio Members  
President, Professor Hugh Brady

The Russell Group

Imperial College Health Partners Ltd.

Provost, Professor Ian Walmsley FRS  
Imperial College Union President, Miss Hayley Wong  Imperial College Union
Senior Staff Representatives  
 Professor Francisco Veloso  
Professor Richard Craster

Frontier Learning Trust

 Professor Nigel Brandon  
 Professor Jonathan Weber  William Tyndale Charitable Trust
Elected Staff Member  
 Professor Jonathan Mestel  
Summary of the table's contents

Financial Statements

Copies of the College’s most recent audited Annual Report and Financial Statements are published on the College Finance Department's webpages. Copies of the annual report and financial statements from previous years are also available.