The Equality, Diversity and Culture Committee aims to support the Department of Computing in achieving the following equality and diversity objectives:

  • No staff or student should be disadvantaged because of their gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, disability or any other protected characteristics (Equality Act 2010).
  • The Department should provide an inclusive environment for all staff and students.
  • The Department should strive for diversity of staff and students along all dimensions.

Meeting frequency: Twice per term

Meeting dates for 2023-24:

Wednesday 25 October, 12:30-14:00
Wednesday 29 November, 12:30-14:00
Wednesday 24 January, 12:30-14:00
Wednesday 13 March, 13:00-14:30
Wednesday 22 May, 12:30-14:00
Wednesday 17 July, 12:30-14:00

Add meeting invites to your calendar (staff only)

EDCC Remit and Membership

Committee Membership

The membership of the Equality, Diversity and Culture committee is regularly reviewed and updated to reflect the diversity across staff and students in the Department. We have a permanent membership (see current membership for 22/23 below) as well as an open and active visiting membership. Visiting members can include undergraduate students, postgraduate students, research staff, support staff, academics, visiting lecturers, representatives from Imperial staff/student societies or external groups, etc. 

Permanent Membership for 22/23:

  • Prof Alessandra Russo, Chair of the EDCC
  • Prof Julie McCann, previous Chair of the EDCC and Academic (research) representative
  • Dr Jackie Bell, EDI Lead and Engagement Officer
  • Dr Rob Craven, Teaching Fellow and PGT Admissions representative
  • Dr Amani El-Kholy, PhD Recruitment representative
  • Dr Maria Valera Espina, Teaching Fellow and Senior Tutor representative
  • Dr Anandha Gopalan, Teaching Fellow representative
  • Dr Lloyd Kamara, CSG representative
  • Dr Ovidiu Serban, Research Fellow and RA representative
  • Dr Thomas Lancaster, Departmental Disability Officer and PGT Senior Tutor representative
  • Dr Nicholas Wu, PGR Senior Tutor and Academic (teaching) representative
  • Mr Harry Coppock, PGR Student representative
  • Ms Caroline Gilchrist, Departmental Wellbeing Advisor
  • Ms Ann Halford, Admin and Non-Academic representative
  • Ms Teresa Ng, Research Admin representative
  • Ms Emilie Nogue, PGR Student representative
  • DoCSoc representative
  • Women and Non-binary in Computing (WiC) representative
  • External Advisor: as appropriate
  • Internal Advisors: committee meetings will occasionally be attended by advisors from Imperial College such as the members of the equivalent committee at faculty level

Visiting Membership for 22/23:

  • Prof Michael Huth, Head of Department
  • Dr Giuliano Casale, Visiting PGR and CDT Admissions representative‚Äč
  • Prof Andrew Davison, RA Mentor

We are always looking to welcome new members to our committee. If you are interested in becoming a permanent or visiting member of the EDCC please contact us

Committee Objectives and Remit

  • To actively engage students and staff with maintaining and developing a culture that supports a good work life balance that is supportive and respectful of all.
  • To propose actions that address equality and diversity issues faced by the Department and make sure that these are implemented. 
  • To act as a forum for the engagement of staff and students in issues related to equality and diversity and to disseminate relevant information when required.
  • To identify and prioritise areas where improvement is needed, through monitoring of relevant quantitative and qualitative data.
  • To identify and promote areas of good practice.
  • To review, advise on and facilitate changes to policies, procedures and working practices, with the aim of upholding the Department’s overarching equality and diversity aspirations.
  • To monitor and evaluate the implementation and effectiveness of policies, procedures and working practices set by the Department, the Faculty and the College, particularly regarding the Department’s overarching equality and diversity aspirations.
  • To advise on publicity, events, marketing and recruitment material within the Department.
  • To engage with other departments and institutions to share good practice.
  • To work closely with the departmental Athena SWAN self-assessment team/working group to drive the implementation of the Athena SWAN action plan.
  • To report to the Faculty Equality, Diversity and Culture Committee.
  • To identify potential equality, diversity and departmental culture issues and to report these to the Departmental Management Committee.
  • To develop and propose action plans, including outreach activities to balance the involvement of minorities in education and research in the department (including women, LGBTQIA+, cultural minorities, people of different religions, age, and disabilities).

Department of Computing EDCC Staff Representatives (2023/24)

Prof Alessandra Russo

Alessandra Russo

Prof Alessandra Russo
Deputy Head of Department, EDCC Chair, SWAN Co-chair & Faculty EDCC representative

Dr Amani El-Kholy

Dr Amani El-Kholy
PhD recruitment representative

Dr Anandha Gopalan

Anandha Gopalan

Dr Anandha Gopalan
Principal Teaching Fellow

Ms Ann Halford


Ms Ann Halford
Professional Services representative

Ms Caroline Gilchrist

Caroline Gilchrist

Ms Caroline Gilchrist
Wellbeing Advisor

Dr Jackie Bell

Jackie Bell

Dr Jackie Bell
Teaching Fellow for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, EDI Forum and Faculty EDCC representative

Prof Julie McCann

Julie McCann

Prof Julie McCann
Academic staff representative and previous EDCC Chair

Dr Lloyd Kamara

Lloyd Kamara

Dr Lloyd Kamara
CSG representative

Dr Maria Valera-Espina

Dr Maria Valera-Espina
Undergraduate Senior Tutor, Teaching Fellow representative

Dr Nicholas Wu

Nicolas Wu

Dr Nicholas Wu
PGR Senior Tutor

Dr Orfeas Litos

Placeholder image

Dr Orfeas Litos
Research Assistant and RA representative

Dr Ovidiu Serban

Placeholder image

Dr Ovidiu Serban
Research Fellow (DSI) and RA representative

Dr Thomas Lancaster

Thomas Lancaster

Dr Thomas Lancaster
Departmental Disability Officer, PGT Senior Tutor

Department of Computing EDCC Student Representatives (2023/24)

Ms Emilie Nogue

Emilie Nogue

Ms Emilie Nogue
Postgraduate Research student representative

Mr Harry Coppock

Harry Coppock

Mr Harry Coppock
Postgraduate Research student representative