BEng/MEng Computing Degree Overview

The BEng/MEng Computing degrees are run under Faculty of Engineering rules. To proceed to the following year, students generally need to have obtained at least 40% in the preceding year (see below for specific progression rules). If you fail to pass a particular module, you may be allowed to resit in September or the following year.

The marks from each year are accumulated over the three or four years of the degree to obtain a final mark. This is then used to decide the final degree classification. The marks from each year are weighted as follows:

Year Weighting


BEng/MEng Transfers

BEng/MEng Transfers

First year

Transfer between the BEng and MEng degrees (and vice-versa) will be permitted on agreement of the senior tutor during Year 1. It is usually required that all transfer decisions have been finalised by the start of Year 3, when the two degree streams diverge.

Second year

Transfer from the BEng to the MEng degree during Year 2 may be permitted depending on the candidate's performance in Year 1 and continuous assessment marks in Year 2. Normally BEng to MEng degree transfer requests made during Year 2 will be held until the candidate's final year-total is known for Year 2.

Required to Transfer to BEng

A candidate may be required to transfer from the MEng to the BEng degree at the end of Year 2, if they fail to attain the necessary credit from their first two years. In order to progress to MEng Year 3, candidates must normally achieve an overall aggregate 2:1 mark (60%+) in Year 2 (for JMC candidates, the aggregate mark is taken across both the Maths and Computing disciplines).