Please note: the afternoon of 10 June was scheduled for the Space Lab / FoNS webinar, but we have decided to postpone the event in order to enable colleagues to participate in ShutdownSTEM events that are planned to happen that day. We will be running the event at a later date – please stay tuned for the new details – and we encourage all interested colleagues to engage with the resources produced by Imperial as One and the EDIC.

The Space Lab is a network of excellence working with space agencies around the world, including NASA and ESA, bringing together academics whose research covers a broad range of space-related fields. This FoNS webinar intends to stimulate new collaborations and discussions around this topic. Our keynote Speaker is Dr Martin Stuart, CEO at Satellite Applications Catapult. Please join us!

*NOTE*: You can read the abstracts of these presentations HERE and already preview the slides of our flash presenters by clicking on their links.


Session 1: Space Safety and Security

14:00 – 14:05 Welcome message by Dr Jonathan Eastwood as director of Space Lab network

 Chair: Dr Heli Hietala (Royal Society URF, Department of Physics)

14:05 – 14:25 Dr Christoph Beischl (London Institute of Space Policy & Law, Academic visitor in the Department of Physics) /ICL’s potential to inform UK Space Safety Policy

14:25 – 14:30 flash presentation: Dr Simon Foster (Space Lab societal engagement lead, Department of Physics) /Space Lab Societal Engagement: Past, present and future

14:30 – 14:50 Professor Mark Burgman (Director of the Centre for Environmental Policy) / What should a responsible space environmental policy look like?

14:50 – 14:55 flash presentation: Alexander Schwertheim (PhD student, Department of Aeronautics) / Water Electrolysis as a Multimodal Propellant for In-Space Propulsion

14:55 – 15:15 Dr Jonathan Eastwood (Space Lab network director, Physics) /The Lagrange Space Weather Mission




Session 2: Space Instrumentation

Chair: Dr Jonathan Eastwood

15:30 – 15:50 Dr Helen E Brindley (Reader in Earth Observation, Department of Physics) / Introducing FORUM – ESA’s 9th Earth Explorer

15:50 – 15:55 flash presentation: Michael Johnson (PhD student, Department of Computing) / In-situ manufacturing of space science and exploration platforms

15:55 – 16:15 Dr Kathryn Hadler (Lecturer of Mineral Processing, Department of Earth Science & Engineering) / Space Resource Utilisation to enable space travel and transform terrestrial mining

16:15 – 16:20 flash presentation: Reuben Cruise (PhD student, Department of Department of Earth Science & Engineering) / Triboelectric Charging – Behaviour in the Lunar Environment

16:20 – 16:40 Professor W. Tom Pike (Professor of Microengineering, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering) / Microseismometers for Mars, and Beyond

16:40 – 17:05 KEY SPEAKER: Dr Stuart Martin (CEO at Satellite Applications Catapult) / The Future of Collaborative Innovation in Space

17:05 -17:10 – Conclusions remarks by the Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences, Professor Richard Craster



Please note: this event has now been postponed