Safeguarding e-learning course

We now have an e-learning course titled: Safeguarding at Imperial College London (no enrolment is necessary). This course is part of Enabling Compliance – Imperial Essentials.

Start course now.

Safeguarding is the action taken to promote the welfare of children under the age of 18 and vulnerable adults and protect them from harm.

The College is committed to providing a safe environment for all students, staff and visitors who access our facilities and services. We recognise our responsibility to safeguard children and vulnerable adults who are involved in the wide scope of our activities. This includes those registered as students, those using our accommodation, sports facilities, disability advisory and counselling services, Early Years Education Centre, those involved in outreach activities, and those attending events on College premises.

Other important information

Key documents

You can find information about the College’s current arrangements for safeguarding children and vulnerable adults as follows:

Safeguarding Committee

In recognition of the wide scope of activities the College is engaged in which involve contact with children and vulnerable adults, the Director of Safeguarding and College Projects commissioned Farrer & Co to undertake a strategic review of the College’s safeguarding arrangements and identify areas for improvement.

As a result, the College has set up a Safeguarding Committee, chaired by the Director of Safeguarding and College Projects and consisting of representatives from across College who have lead responsibility for activities involving under 18s or vulnerable adults. The committee will meet on a termly basis to:

  1. Agree protocols and procedures that reflect a best practice approach to safeguarding
  2. Ensure clear accountability and training for those with responsibility for safeguarding
  3. Share learning and casework developments to improve awareness and compliance

Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday 3 March 2021
  • Wednesday 4 August 2021
  • Wednesday 3 November 2021

Further information will be published as it becomes available.  For general questions please contact Louise Lindsay, Director of Safeguarding and College Projects at

An annual report will be made to Provost's Board on the Committee's activities and actions.



Job Title

Louise Lindsay (Chair)

Director of Safeguarding and College Projects

Shola Alabi

Strategic HR Partner

Annalisa Alexander

Head of Outreach

David Ashton

Academic Registrar

Jesse Alter


Hannah Bannister


Melanie Bottrill

Digital Content and Social Media Manager


Director of Student Services


Deputy Head of Outreach

Terry Branch

Head of Security

Vicky Brightman

Public Engagement Manager

Pippa Chalmers

Head of Compliance

Katie Coupar-Evans

Head of Advancement Events

Benita Cox

Principle Teaching Fellow, Business School

Lorraine Craig

Associate Dean of Learning and Teaching, Faculty of Engineering

Liz- Anne Des Vignes

Marzena Esposito

Early Years Deputy Manager/Section Manager, Early Years Education Centre

Facilities & Membership Coordinator 

Thomas Flynn

Managing Director of Student Union

Claire Fox

Head of Student Counselling & Mental Health Advice 

Tracy Halsey

Head of Early Years Education Centre

William Hollyer

Head of Sport

Surrinder Johal

Director of Safety

Angela Kehoe

Strategic HR Partner, Faculty of Natural Sciences

Ann Kelly

Head of Employee Relations

Alice Kendle

Farrer & Co representative

Sue Mannion

Student Hub Manager, Campus Services

Cindy Lai

Michele Mapp

Head of Research Support Services 

Strategic Director in the Office of Financial Strategy


 Lara Mistry   Public Engagement Programme Manager

Jane Neary

Director of Campus Services

John Neilson

College Secretary

Elizabeth Nixon

Internal Communications Manager

Paul Noke

Head of Residential Services and Suppport Operations

Claire O' Brien

Director of Occupational Health

Maureen O' Brien

Head of Disability Advisory Service 

Debra Ogden

Action Director of Student Services

Priya Pallan

Community Engagement Manager (White City)

Philip Power

Head of Education and Student Experience Strategy, Faculty of Engineering

Zoe Punaks

Director of Advancement Operations and Administration


Fiona Richmond

Nick Roalfe

Lead Organisation Development Consultant


Director of Estates Operation

John Seddon

Professor of Chemical Physics, Chemistry

Lucy Spasova-Joneja

Business Development Manager

Andrew Tebbutt

Director of Outreach

Jon Tucker

Faculty Operating Officer, Faculty of Medicine

Jeffrey Vernon

Principle Teaching Fellow, Faculty of Medicine Centre

Kim Vieira-Martins

Conferencing and Events Sales Manager

Chris Watkins

Faculty Operating Officer, Faculty of Medicine

Claire Whelan

Global Summer School Development Manager

Suzanne Woodcock

Staff DBS Manager

Olivia Coster (Notes)

Staff Compliance Assistant