CATO Academic leadsAcademic Training Leads

Each specialty training scheme has a designated training lead to oversee the academic element of the programme. Clinical academic trainees are advised to make contact with their Academic Training Lead as soon as possible after joining the programme and to stay in regular contact during their time on the scheme. Academic Training Leads have responsibility for and can help with:

  • oversight of the academic element of ACF and CL schemes and representing the schemes at committee level
  • ensuring and advising on the allocation of research projects/academic supervisors to each academic trainee
  • negotiation and organisation of research blocks
  • helping academic trainees to resolve any difficulties that they may have with managing their programme
  • general communications and advice about the programme and encouraging ACFs/CLs to engage in CATO initiatives such as mentoring, courses and events
  • oversight of each ACF/CL’s progress through the ARCP (Annual Review of Competence Progression) process
  • liaison with Clinical Training Leads on planning academic training programmes for trainees.

Clinical Training Leads

Clinical Training Leads, also referred to as Training Programme Directors, have overall responsibility for the clinical specialty programme. Clinical Training Leads have responsibility for and can help with:

  • overall management of the recruitment of trainees
  • organisation of trainees' clinical rotations
  • ensuring the delivery of the clinical curriculum within the training programme
  • management of the assessment process for trainees
  • liaison with Academic Training Leads on clinical training elements of academic training.

Contact details

Specialty Academic Training Leads Clinical Training Leads/Training Programme Directors

Acute Medicine 

 

Florian Wernig
florian.wernig@nhs.net

Joanne Thompson
Joanne.thompson12@nhs.net

Anaesthetics Dr Brijesh Patel
brijesh.patel@imperial.ac.uk 
Dr Michelle Hayes
michelle.hayes@chelwest.nhs.uk

Dr Peter Brooks
peter.brooks@chelwest.nhs.uk
Cardiology Prof Nicholas Peters
n.peters@imperial.ac.uk


Professor Darrel Francis
d.francis@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rebecca Lane
R.Lane@nhs.net

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Dr Prakash Punjabi
p.punjabi@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Prakash Punjabi
p.punjabi@imperial.ac.uk

Chemical Pathology

Dr Ali Abbara
ali.abbara@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Karim Meeran
k.meeran@imperial.ac.uk
Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics Prof Martin Wilkins
m.wilkins@imperial.ac.uk
 
Clinical Radiology

Dr Nishat Bharwani
Nishat.Bharwani@nhs.net

Dr Declan O'Regan
Declan.ORegan@nhs.net

Dr Samir Mahboobani
samir.mahboobani@nhs.net 

Dr Samira Rostampour
samira.rostampour@nhs.net 

Emergency Medicine (Paediatrics) Dr Ian Maconochie
i.maconochie@imperial.ac.uk
Dr Ian Maconochie
i.maconochie@imperial.ac.uk

Endocrinology and Diabetes Mellitus

Dr Ali Abbara
ali.abbara@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Karim Meeran
k.meeran@imperial.ac.uk
Gastroenterology and Hepatology Dr Nicholas Powell
nicholas.powell@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Monahan
k.monahan@imperial.ac.uk

General Practice and Primary Care

 

Prof Azeem Majeed
a.majeed@imperial.ac.uk

Ms Nadine Engineer
n.engineer@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Sian Powell
sian.powell@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Martin Block
m.block@imperial.ac.uk

General Surgery

Mr Stefan Antonowicz
s.antonowicz@imperial.ac.uk 

Mrs Katy Hogben
Katy.Hogben@nhs.net

Genitourinary Medicine Prof Sarah Fidler 
s.fidler@imperial.ac.uk 
Dr Alison Mears
Alison.Mears@nhs.net

Haematology

Dr Andrew Innes
a.innes@imperial.ac.uk


Dr Nina Salooja
nina.salooja@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Abdul Shlebak
a.shlebak@imperial.ac.uk

Histopathology


Dr Candice Roufosse
c.roufosse@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Rashpal Flora
rashpal.flora@nhs.net
Infectious Diseases and Microbiology


Prof Shiranee Sriskandan
s.sriskandan@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Frances Davies 
frances.davies1@nhs.net
Intensive Care Medicine


Dr David B Antcliffe

d.antcliffe@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Nish Arulkumaran
nisharulkumaran@doctors.org.uk
Medical Oncology


Dr Jonathan Krell
j.krell@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Iain McNeish
i.mcneish@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Mark Bower
m.bower@imperial.ac.uk
Neurology


Prof Paresh Malhotra
p.malhotra@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Rebecca Redwood
rebeccaredwood@nhs.net 
Neurosurgery


Mr Dipankar Nandi
d.nandi@imperial.ac.uk

Mr Ramesh Nair
ramesh.nair@imperial.ac.uk
Obstetrics and Gynaecology


Dr Lynne Sykes
l.sykes@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Catriona Stalder
catriona.stalder@nhs.net
Ophthalmology

Prof Francesca Cordeiro
francesca.cordeiro@nhs.net

Mr Saurabh Jain
saurabh.jain@nhs.net

Paediatric Immunology, Infectious Disease and Allergy

 

Prof Jane Davies
j.c.davies@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Sudhin Thayyil
s.thayyil@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Jethro Herberg
j.herberg@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Chris Gale
christopher.gale@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Sandhia Naik
sandhia.naik@nhs.net  

Paediatrics and Child Public Health

Prof Jane Davies
j.c.davies@imperial.ac.uk

Prof Sudhin Thayyil
s.thayyil@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Jethro Herberg
j.herberg@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Chris Gale
christopher.gale@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Sandhia Naik
sandhia.naik@nhs.net  

Plastic Surgery

Mr Shehan Hettiaratchy
shehan.hettiaratchy@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Simmons 
jonathan.simmons@nhs.net

Psychiatry

Dr Dasha Nicholls 
d.nicholls@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Alison Conway
alisonconway@nhs.net 
Public Health Medicine


Dr Richard Pinder
richard.pinder@imperial.ac.uk 

Dr Matthew Harris
m.harris@imperial.ac.uk 
Renal Medicine Dr Stephen McAdoo
s.mcadoo@imperial.ac.uk 
Dr Lina Nikolopoulou   
lina.nikolopoulou@nhs.net

Dr Katy Bennett-Richards
katy.bennettrichards@nhs.net
Respiratory Medicine Prof Sebastian Johnston
s.johnston@imperial.ac.uk


Dr Rachel Davies
rachel.davies38@nhs.net

Rheumatology Prof Matthew Pickering
matthew.pickering@imperial.ac.uk


Dr Harry Penn 
henrypenn@nhs.net

Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery

 

Prof Justin Cobb
j.cobb@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Chinmay Gupte
c.gupte00@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Chinmay Gupte
c.gupte00@imperial.ac.uk
Urology Prof Hashim Ahmed
hashim.ahmed@imperial.ac.uk


Mathias Winkler
Mathias.Winkler@nhs.net

Vascular Surgery Prof Alun Davies
a.h.davies@imperial.ac.uk

Keith Jones
keith.jones4@nhs.net

Summary of the table's contents