The Department of Surgery, Anaesthetics and Intensive Care was formed from a merger of West London Medical Schools (see Faculty of Medicine page for details).


The first Head of Division was Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Sean Hughes.


New Head of Division Professor of Surgery Ara Darzi took the lead, enabling the Department to maximise the synergies between its component specialities.


Lord Darzi was appointed as the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department of Health.


Magill Professor of Anaesthetics Mervyn Maze, took over as Head of Division when Professor Darzi joined the Government as Health Minister. The Division was expanded to included Cancer, Obstetrics and Gynaecology (the Institute of Reproductive and Developmental Biology – IRDB) and was renamed Department of Surgery, Oncology, Reproductive Biology and Anaesthetics (SORA).


Professor Jeremy Nicholson, Professor of Biological Chemistry became the first non-clinical Head leading in underpinning basic science and innovation across the Department.


The Department was expanded to include Digestive Diseases.


Professor George Hanna became Head of the Department of Surgery and Cancer.