The John S Archer Fund was established by a group of his former PhD students in honour of Professor Archer, former Professor of Petroleum Engineering and Dean of the Royal School of Mines.

The John S Archer Award will be given to a PhD student in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering who has demonstrated excellence in the broad field of subsurface engineering and geoscience as they relate to delivering sustainable energy.

  • Due consideration will be given to the need of financial assistance in the case of equally qualified candidates 
  • Research students in 1st, 2nd or 3rd year  (in exceptional circumstances, also 4th year students) will be considered
  • Full or part time PhD students are eligible

The value of the award is suggested at £5,000, though the value of the award may increase or decrease.

See more about our Postgraduate Prizes in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering.


John S Archer Award Winner
The winner of the 2019 Award, Felipe Huerta Perez (centre, with members of the Group of Ten who established the Award), was announced on 29 October 2019 at a Department reception, by Dr Ivor Ellul, a former colleague of Professor Archer.

Listen to an interview with Dr Ivor Ellul, on the occasion of the 2019 John S Archer Award


Past Award Winners

Congratulations to winners of the John S Archer Award:

James Burtonshaw - 2024

Cristina Saceanu - 2023

Abdulla Alhosani - 2021

Navjot Kukreja - 2020

Felipe Huerta Perez - 2019

Lukas Mosser - 2018

Matthew Reeve - 2015

Chandra Taposeea - 2013

Rehab El Magraby - 2011

Ana Mijic - 2010

Potcharaporn (Yok) Pongthunya - 2009