The Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) of the year award is presented annually by the Faculty. The award:

  • demonstrates that the Faculty of Engineering recognises the integral role GTAs perform in teaching within the Faculty;
  • offers an incentive to GTAs to strive for excellence in their teaching;
  • provides GTAs with recognition for inclusion in their CVs;
  • encourages GTAs to talk and think more about their approach to teaching.

Each year, every department selects its best GTA and from these departmental winners the Faculty presents a highly commended award and then choses an overall winner.

2017 winner

The winners from each department were:

  • Jan Rose (Aeronautics)
  • Octave Etard (Bioengineering)
  • Alexandros Nordas (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
  • Anouk Zeeu van der Laan (Dyson School of Design Engineering)
  • Christoforos Panteli (Electrical & Electronic Engineering)
  • Sam Brooke (Earth Science & Engineering)
  • Sammy He (Mechanical Engineering)

The panel were very impressed with all these nominations.

Overall winner

The overall winner of the GTA of the year award 2017 was Christoforos Panteli from Electrical & Electronic Engineering.

Read more about this year's award.